Chevrolet wins 2013 IndyCar Series Manufacturer's championship

For the second consecutive year, Gold Bowtie clinches coveted award

FONTANA, Calif. (October 19, 2013) – With Will Power’s victory tonight at Auto Club Speedway, Chevrolet has clinched its second consecutive IndyCar Series Manufacturers’ championship.

Will Power, Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet
Will Power, Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet

Photo by: Covy Moore

"We are proud of the teamwork and dedicated efforts of our drivers, teams and technical partners that culminated in Chevrolet's second consecutive IndyCar Series manufacturers' championship," said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. "The Chevrolet IndyCar V6 engine gave our teams the right combination of power, fuel economy, and reliability that resulted in winning this prestigious award.

On the way to the coveted title, drivers of the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 twin turbocharged, direct-injected engine tallied a total of 10 wins in the 19-race 2013 IndyCar Series season that included the exciting win by KV Racing Technology Chevrolet driver Tony Kanaan in the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500.

“Clinching the 2013 IndyCar Series manufacturers’ championship with the Chevrolet IndyCar V6 twin turbo-charged direct-injected engine is the result of a collaborative and cooperative effort by our teams and technical partners,” said Mark Kent, Director, Chevrolet Racing. “Chevrolet, Ilmor Engineering, Hitachi, GM Racing Powertrains, Pratt & Miller Engineering and our Chevy teams worked tirelessly to put the best combination of performance and reliability that resulted in this title. Congratulations to everyone whose contributions have made this second consecutive championship possible.”

The Chevrolet IndyCar V6 team and driver roster that contributed to Chevrolet capturing the Series’ manufacturers’ title are: Team Penske – Helio Castroneves, Will Power and AJ Allmendinger; Andretti Autosport – Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe, Ryan Hunter-Reay, EJ Viso and Carlos Munoz; KV Racing Technology - Tony Kanaan and Simona De Silvestro; Panther Racing – Oriol Servia and Ryan Briscoe; Ed Carpenter Racing – Ed Carpenter and Dragon Racing – Sebastien Bourdais and Sebastian Saavedra.

Chevrolet returned to IndyCar Series competition in 2012 with Ryan Hunter-Reay capturing the driver championship in addition to the manufacturers’ title. Previously Chevrolet competed in Indy-style racing as an engine manufacturer in 1986-93 and 2002-05 with V8 engines that powered Chevrolet to seven Indianapolis 500 victories, and six driver championships.

Team Chevy Racing News

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Tony Kanaan , Oriol Servia , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Sébastien Bourdais , Ryan Briscoe , Marco Andretti , Will Power , Jim Campbell , James Hinchcliffe , Sebastian Saavedra , EJ Viso , Carlos Munoz , Ed Carpenter
Teams Andretti Autosport , Panther Racing , Team Penske , KV Racing Technology , Dragon Racing
Article type Race report
Tags chevrolet, fontana