CHAMPCAR/CART: Zanardi Portland qualifying notes

Alex Zanardi and the ...

Alex Zanardi and the #66 Pioneer-WorldCom/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard will start Sunday's Freightliner/G.I. Joe's 200 from inside the 13th row. Zanardi had a disappointing run in the first qualifying group, setting a fast lap of 59.213 seconds (an average of 119.710 mph) over the 1.969-mile Portland International Raceway road course.

Teammate Tony Kanaan and the #55 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard will start from the inside of the 11th row after recording a fast lap of 58.697 seconds (120.763 mph). It was Kanaan's fastest lap of the weekend by some seven-tenths of a second. Max Papis, who qualified in the first group with Zanardi, pulled off the rare feat of earning the pole position from that group, made up of drivers in the bottom half of the season-long point standings. Papis' fast time was 57.785 seconds (120.763 mph), just 47 hundredths of a second behind the track record set by Helio Castroneves last year. Cristiano da Matta qualified second with a time of 57.866 seconds (122.497mph), while Castroneves was third in 57.944 seconds (122.332 mph).

Race time Sunday is 1 p.m. local time (4 p.m. EDT) with a live broadcast set for ESPN. The Sunday morning warm-up show, CART2DAY, will be carried by ESPN2 at 11 a.m. EDT.


"This is the first time in my career that I'm starting a race from the last position. That's probably all I have to say for you to realize how it feels. Obviously, we are very disappointed. I am sorry for all the mechanics who have been working so very, very hard. Unfortunately, this is the result. We are obviously having problems that we do not have the answers for, or else we would most definitely be a lot farther up the grid. It can't get any worse, that's for sure. But, we all know that Sunday is the day we all live for in this business. It's the day that matters most. So we can wake up in the morning with the hope that we will have all of our problems sorted out."


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Max Papis , Alex Zanardi , Tony Kanaan , Cristiano da Matta , Mo Nunn