CHAMPCAR/CART: Toronto fast facts

<pre> FAST FACTS FOR THE MOLSON INDY WHAT: Molson Indy. WHERE: Exhibition Place, Toronto, Ontario, Canada. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, July 13-15. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota Atlantic Championship, Barber Dodge...


WHAT: Molson Indy.

WHERE: Exhibition Place, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

WHEN: Friday-Sunday, July 13-15.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota Atlantic Championship, Barber Dodge Pro Series, CASCAR.

CART SCHEDULE (All times local):


Barber Dodge practice, 8-8:25 a.m. Indy Lights practice, 8:40-9:15 a.m. Champ Car practice, 9:30-11:15 a.m. Atlantic practice, 11:30-12:10 a.m. Champ Car practice, 1:30-3 p.m. Indy Lights qualifying, 3:15-3:45 p.m. Atlantic qualifying, 4-4:30 p.m. Barber Dodge qualifying, 4:45-5:15 p.m.

SATURDAY, JULY 14 - Atlantic qualifying, 8:45-9:15 a.m. Indy Lights practice, 9:30-10 a.m. Champ Car practice, 10:15-11:30 a.m. Barber Dodge qualifying, 12:15-12:45 p.m. Indy Lights qualifying, 1-1:30 p.m. Champ Car qualifying (2 groups/30 minutes each), 1:45-3 p.m. Atlantic race, 3:15-4:15 p.m.

SUNDAY, JULY 15 - Indy Lights warm-up, 8-8:15 a.m. Barber Dodge warm-up, 8:30-8:45 a.m. Champ Car warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m. Indy Lights race, 10:15-11:30 a.m. Grid Champ Cars, 12:15 p.m. Molson Indy, 1 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ESPN (live, 1 p.m. ET) RADIO-CART Radio Network .

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Molson Indy pole qualifying, 5 p.m. ET Saturday, ESPN2 CART 2Day, 11 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.


TRACK LAYOUT: 1.755-mile temporary road course. RACE LENGTH: 95 laps, 166.725 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1999, Gil de Ferran, 110.565 mph (57.143 seconds) Race - 1999, Dario Franchitti, 85.897 mph.

RACE NUMBER: 10 of 21 in the FedEx Championship Series.

FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1. Kenny Brack, Team Rahal, 84 points 2. Helio Castroneves, Marlboro Team Penske, 70 3. Dario Franchitti, Team KOOL Green, 65 4. Gil de Ferran, Marlboro Team Penske, 56 5. Cristiano da Matta, Newman/Haas Racing, 55. </pre> INSTANT REPLAY

Michael Andretti of Newman/Haas Racing moved into sole possession of third place on the all-time Champ Car victory list when he captured the 2001 Molson Indy before a record-setting crowd of 72,976 at Toronto's Exhibition Place. Andretti (Big Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Ford Lola) snapped a tie with Al Unser by claiming his 40th Champ Car win overall, leaving him behind only A.J. Foyt (67) and Mario Andretti (52) on the career list. It was also his sixth win at Toronto, joining previous victories in 1989, '91, '92, '94 and '95. Andretti finished a comfortable 6.527 seconds ahead of runner-up Adrian Fernandez (Tecate/Quaker State/Patrick Racing Ford Reynard) while native Canadian Paul Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard) of Team KOOL Green finished third. Andretti led 34 of 112 laps en route to the victory and trimmed 20 points off his 22-point deficit to series leader Roberto Moreno (Visteon Ford Reynard) of Patrick Racing when Moreno finished a scoreless 13th. Moreno left Toronto with a series-leading 90 points, followed by Andretti with 88 and Gil de Ferran (Marlboro Honda Reynard) of Marlboro Team Penske with 75. <pre> Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 2 hours, 2.313 seconds. Average Speed: 98.248 miles per hour. Margin of Victory: 6.527 seconds. Caution Flags: 2 for 7 laps. Lap Leaders: Cristiano da Matta, 73 laps; Michael Andretti, 34; Adrian Fernandez, 3; Roberto Moreno, 2.


Year    Race Winner             Pole Winner
1986    Bobby Rahal             Emerson Fittipaldi
1987    Emerson Fittipaldi      Bobby Rahal
1988    Al Unser Jr.            Danny Sullivan
1989    Michael Andretti        Emerson Fittipaldi
1990    Al Unser Jr.            Danny Sullivan
1991    Michael Andretti        Michael Andretti
1992    Michael Andretti        Bobby Rahal
1993    Paul Tracy              Emerson Fittipaldi
1994    Michael Andretti        Robby Gordon
1995    Michael Andretti        Jacques Villeneuve
1996    Adrian Fernandez        Andre Ribeiro
1997    Mark Blundell           Dario Franchitti
1998    Alex Zanardi            Dario Franchitti
1999    Dario Franchitti        Gil de Ferran
2000    Michael Andretti        Helio Castroneves

All-time victories

Michael Andretti        6
Al Unser Jr.            2
Bobby Rahal             1
Emerson Fittipaldi      1
Paul Tracy              1
Adrian Fernandez        1
Mark Blundell           1
Alex Zanardi            1
Dario Franchitti        1

All-time pole positions

Emerson Fittipaldi      3
Danny Sullivan          2
Bobby Rahal             2
Dario Franchitti        2
Michael Andretti        1
Robby Gordon            1
Jacques Villeneuve      1
Andre Ribeiro           1
Gil de Ferran           1
Helio Castroneves       1


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Jacques Villeneuve , Robby Gordon , Al Unser Jr. , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Adrian Fernandez , Roberto Moreno , Bobby Rahal , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Alex Zanardi , Kenny Brack , Mark Blundell , Mario Andretti , Danny Sullivan , Emerson Fittipaldi , Andre Ribeiro , A.J. Foyt , Cristiano da Matta
Teams Team Penske