CHAMPCAR/CART: Road America: Pre-race notes, schedule

FAST FACTS GENERAC CHAMP CAR GRAND PRIX WHAT: Generac Champ Car Grand Prix WHERE: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin -- Road America WHEN: Friday--Sunday, August 10-12 SUPPORT EVENTS: Champ Car Atlantic Championship, American Lemans Series, Star...


WHAT: Generac Champ Car Grand Prix

WHERE: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin -- Road America

WHEN: Friday--Sunday, August 10-12

SUPPORT EVENTS: Champ Car Atlantic Championship, American Lemans Series, Star Mazda Championship, and Formula BMW USA Championship.

CHAMP CAR SCHEDULE (All times local):

08:00 -- 08:45 a.m. Atlantic practice
10:15 -- 11:30 a.m. Champ Car practice
03:40 -- 04:15 p.m. Atlantic qualifying
05:30 -- 06:30 p.m. Champ Car qualifying

08:00 -- 08:30 a.m. Atlantic practice
08:45 -- 09:45 a.m. Champ Car practice
01:15 -- 01:50 p.m. Atlantic qualifying
02:10 -- 03:10 p.m. Champ Car qualifying

08:30 -- 08:45 a.m. Atlantic warmup
09:45 -- 10:15 a.m. Champ Car warmup
11:45 a.m. Atlantic race


SUNDAY, AUGUST 12 -- Generac Champ Car Grand Prix, ABC, 3:00 p.m. (Live).

2006 CHAMPION: A.J. Allmendinger
2006 POLESITTER: Dan Clarke

TRACK LAYOUT: 4.048-mile permanent road course

RACE LENGTH: One hour and forty-five minutes

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) -- 2000, Dario Franchitti, 1:39.866 (145.924 mph).
Race -- 2002, Cristiano da Matta, 1:56:43.030 (124.856 mph) based on 60 laps (242.880 miles)

RACE ROUND: Round ten of sixteen in the Champ Car World Series


In 1950 the Elkhart Lake Businessman's Association decided to organize a series of road races throughout the town. They called upon the Chicago Region Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) to help organize the first road race at Elkhart Lake. The 1950 circuit start-finish line was on County Road P. Competitors went north to County Road J, then South into the Village of Elkhart Lake, and West on what is now County JP, and reconnected with County Road P for a total distance of 3.3 miles. For the next two races, in 1951 and 1952, a different course was used. It was 6.5 miles long, on County Roads J, A, and P. Today, you can still drive the original courses as they have not changed much with time. In 1955, Cliff Tufte started what is now known as Road America, in a configuration that has changed little over the past 50 years. In 1982 Champ Car made its first visit with a rain-disrupted race won by Hector Rebaque after Al Unser's Longhorn ran out of fuel a couple of miles from the finish. Today, Road America is one of the oldest road-racing courses in North America and is also the longest natural road racing facility on the North American continent. In 2005, Road America celebrated not only its 50th anniversary, but also the track's inclusion to the Register of Historic Places. The Road America race circuit is one of only two preserved circuits in the United States given this prestigious honor. Elkhart Lake's two original closed-circuit courses also have been recognized as the last of the great open road racing circuits in America.


In the past twenty-five Champ Car races in Road America, seven drivers have recorded their first career wins on the Elkhart Lake circuit, including Alex Tagliani, Bruno Junqueira, Christian Fittipaldi, Dario Franchitti, Jacques Villeneuve, his uncle Jacques Villeneuve, and Hector Rebaque.

Eight times in history at Road America the victor of the event has been decided by less than a second. The closest finish happened in 1986 when Emerson Fittipaldi passed the finish line 0.330 in front of Michael Andretti. On the other side, the first race at Road America in 1982 was won by Hector Rebaque by almost two full laps.

Robert Doornbos is the only driver to take the checkered flag at the finish at each and every event this season. This stat helps the young Dutchman as he has the highest average finish of any competitor this season. Over the first nine events Doornbos has posted an average finish of 4.7, which beats point leader Sebastien Bourdais who is currently averaging a finish of fifth.

By winning in San Jose after qualifying 15th Robert Doornbos became the first driver in almost five years to win from that far back on the grid. The last time a driver won from the fifteenth position or lower was in 2002 in Australia when Mario Dominguez scored his first career win after qualifying sixteenth.

So far this season eight drivers have made their way to podium finishes in the Champ Car World Series. Three of those have been Roshfrans Rookie-of-the-Year candidates (Robert Doornbos, Neel Jani and Graham Rahal).

Rookie competitor Robert Doornbos has logged more laps than any other driver in the Champ Car World Series. Out of the 769 laps that have been run this season, the Dutchman has completed 763 of those. Fellow rookie Simon Pagenaud is second on this list recording 742 laps. The rest of the top five in completed laps include Will Power (741), Neel Jani (730) and Alex Tagliani (716).

By winning his 29th career pole position in San Jose Sebastien Bourdais is currently sixth on the all time career pole position list. The only drivers that are ahead of him on the list are Michael Andretti (32), Rick Mears (40), Bobby Unser (49), A.J. Foyt (53), and Mario Andretti (67).


119 -- The most laps any active driver has led in Elkhart Lake (Paul Tracy).
13 -- The furthest back a driver has qualified and still went to Victory Lane at Road America (Alex Tagliani, 2004).
9 -- Times a race at Road America has been run caution free.
8 --Times the driver that led the most laps has gone on to win in Road America.
7 -- Champ Car races have been won from the pole position on the Wisconsin road course.
6 - The most number of caution flags that have flown during an event at Elkhart Lake (2006, 2001, 1997, 1995 and 1982).
4 -- The most poles a single driver has won in Elkhart Lake (Danny Sullivan).
3 -- The most wins a single driver has been able to notch in at Road America (Emerson Fittipaldi and Michael Andretti).
3 -- How many times a driver has won back-to-back races in Elkhart Lake (Mario Andretti, Michael Andretti, and Jacques Villeneuve).
3 --American drivers have won at Road America (A.J. Allmendinger, Michael Andretti, and Danny Sullivan).
3 -- Times the Road America event has been led wire-to-wire by a single driver.
2 --Members of the Villeneuve family that have recorded their first career Champ Car wins in Road America (1995 CART Champion Jacques Villeneuve won his first race in 1994 and his uncle Jacques Villeneuve also won his first race there in 1985).

-credit: ccws

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Jacques Villeneuve , Michael Andretti , Bruno Junqueira , Alex Tagliani , Christian Fittipaldi , Dario Franchitti , Mario Dominguez , Mario Andretti , Bobby Unser , Danny Sullivan , Sébastien Bourdais , Robert Doornbos , A.J. Allmendinger , Emerson Fittipaldi , Hector Rebaque , Neel Jani , Will Power , Daniel Clarke , Simon Pagenaud , A.J. Foyt , Cristiano da Matta