CHAMPCAR/CART: Portland: This Week in Ford Racing

CART Champ Car World Series FORD-COSWORTH AT PORTLAND INTERNATIONAL RACEWAY Ford-Cosworth engines have powered six winners at Portland International Raceway, the last coming in 2001 with Max Papis' XF- powered Team Rahal entry. Papis returns...

CART Champ Car World Series


Ford-Cosworth engines have powered six winners at Portland International Raceway, the last coming in 2001 with Max Papis' XF- powered Team Rahal entry. Papis returns to Champ Car this week for the first time since the end of the 2002 season. The DFX version of the Ford-Cosworth engine holds four of the wins in Portland, two with Mario Andretti in 1985 and 1986, and one each with Al Unser, Jr. (1984) and Bobby Rahal (1987). Michael Andretti notched the other Ford-Cosworth win in 1992 with the XB powerplant.

Ford-Cosworth has also had qualifying success at PIR earning five poles with five different drivers since 1992. Nigel Mansell (1993), Jacques Villenueve (1995), Scott Pruett (1997), Bryan Herta (1998) and Max Papis (2001) have all started first on the grid for the Blue Oval.


Ford Racing will host the inaugural Ford Racing Fan Appreciation Night on Wednesday, June 18th, at the Rose Garden Arena in downtown Portland, Oregon. The event is presented by Northwest Ford Stores and will feature current racing stars from the Champ Car World Series. This event will run from 6-9 p.m. and includes a variety of activities, including autograph sessions and Q&A's with Champ Car World Series drivers. Show cars, Ford production vehicles and Ford Champ Car pace vehicles will all be on display. Fans can also enter to win Pace Car rides, tickets, and various other prizes.


Ford, The Official Safety Provider of the Champ Car World Series, will be visiting the Portland YMCA on Thursday, June 19, along with Ford Champ Car driver Darren Manning, to talk to campers about safety measures they can use in their everyday activities. The program will focus on the use of seatbelts and helmets, and will allow the campers to ask questions, take pictures with Manning and a Champ Car, and get autographs from the rookie driver.


Michel Jourdain, Jr. continues pace the championship points race by picking up 12 points with a fourth-place finish on Sunday. The young veteran had apparently earned his second pole of the season; however, the Team Rahal entry failed to pass technical inspection and Jourdain was forced to start 13th on the grid. Patrick Carpentier picked up another spot in the points with his first win of the season; the Canadian is slowly creeping towards the top of the standings by picking up one position in each of the last three race weekends. Carpentier's teammate, Paul Tracy, found himself on the podium for the first time since his win in Long Beach, but slipped one spot to third. Bruno Junqueira finished one spot ahead of Tracy in Portland and moved two points ahead of him in the points race. The Brazilian pilot now sits second behind Jourdain. The biggest move in the points came from rookie Mario Haberfeld. The first-year driver posted a fifth-place finish, moving up four spots and into the top-10.


The 2003 rookie class now has three drivers in the top-10 in points. With Mario Haberfeld's impressive fifth-place effort, he moves ahead of Darren Manning and into ninth place in the championship race. Haberfeld's fifth-place finish was his fifth top-10 and second top-five finish this season, tying him with Manning in top-10 finishes among rookies. Manning completed only 12 laps on Sunday before retiring with mechanical problems, picking up no points. Rookie points leader Sebastien Bourdais also succumbed to mechanical problems, completing only 77 of 87 laps and finishing 17th. Bourdais continues to lead the rookie class with 53 points, Haberfeld is second with 36, followed by Manning, 34; Tiago Monteiro, 15; and Ryan Hunter-Reay, 10.


Patrick Carpentier - Carpentier notched his fourth career Champ Car win last weekend and climbed into fourth in championship points, 19 behind leader Michel Jourdain, Jr. Carpentier is tied with Jourdain and Bruno Junqueira with six top-10 finishes this year. Carpentier has been consistent at PIR finishing fifth the past two years at the permanent road course and posting five consecutive top-10s in Portland.

Max Papis - Papis makes his return to Champ Car this weekend in Portland where he won from the pole in 2001. Papis will pilot the PK Racing entry for the remainder of the 2003 season. Papis competed in the 24 Hours of LeMans last weekend assisting in a fifth-place finish for his team consisting of Olivier Beretta and Gunnar Jeannette. The Italian driver has three career Champ Car wins to his credit, including two during his last full season of competition in 2001, and is the only current driver to have posted a win at PIR.


Bruno Junqueira returns as the highest finisher from last year's PIR contest, he placed second ... Patrick Carpentier is the only driver to finish in the points in every race this season and leads the series in laps completed with 932 of a possible 936 ... Roberto Moreno has two second-place finishes at PIR in 2000 and 2001.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Mario Haberfeld , Darren Manning , Michael Andretti , Bruno Junqueira , Max Papis , Roberto Moreno , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Bryan Herta , Nigel Mansell , Scott Pruett , Mario Andretti , Al Unser Sr. , Tiago Monteiro , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Sébastien Bourdais , Gunnar Jeannette , Olivier Beretta , Michel Jourdain