CHAMPCAR/CART: N/H/L Racing clinched European Team Cup title

Despite their seventh and ninth place finish, Sebastien Bourdais ...

Despite their seventh and ninth place finish, Sebastien Bourdais #1 and Graham Rahal #3 of the Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing (NHLR) team were rewarded with trophies and a week-long stay at a Phanos Resort location after taking the Phanos Champ Car European Team Cup title.

The NHLR duo finished an impressive 16.5 points ahead of the Canadian Triple Crown winners of Team Australia. Will Power #5 and Simon Pagenaud #15 battled their way to the top, but were unable to steal the title with a sixth and 14th place finish. The pair took the second spot in the competition with 114 points.

Alex Tagliani #8 and race winner Justin Wilson #9 of Rocketsport / RuSPORT edged out Tristan Gommendy #22 and Neel Jani #21 of PKV Racing by 0.5 points, finishing third place with 106.5 points. Bruno Junquiera #19 finishing on the podium for the second race in a row, along with teammate Katherine Legge #11 took the Dale Coyne Racing team to a fifth place finish. Jan Heylen #34 coming off of his best Champ Car career finish of second place captured sixth for the single car team of Conquest Racing.

Points were earned by Champ Car teams for both Friday and Saturday qualifying sessions, with first place taking 10 points and each position after taking 0.5 points less that the preceding driver (10 / 9.5 / 9 / 8.5 etc.).

The winner on Sunday's race took 20 points and each position after received one point less that the preceding driver (20 / 19 / 18 / 17 etc.). Standings were determined by adding up the points for each teammate.

Jan Heylen #34 Conquest Racing, driving for the only team with one driver, had his points doubled for each session.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Justin Wilson , Bruno Junqueira , Alex Tagliani , Graham Rahal , Sébastien Bourdais , Katherine Legge , Neel Jani , Tristan Gommendy , Jan Heylen , Will Power , Simon Pagenaud , Dale Coyne
Teams Conquest Racing , Dale Coyne Racing