CHAMPCAR/CART: Milwaukee: Pre-race notes, schedule

WHO'S HOT In Monterrey Bruno Junqueira ( ...


In Monterrey Bruno Junqueira (#2 PacifiCare Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) survived the heat and a high attrition rate to score his first win of the season, extending his impressive streak of eight consecutive podium finishes dating back to the end of 2004. This marks the eighth time in history that a Champ Car driver has had eight consecutive podiums, the last being Rick Mears in 1981. It is also Junqueira's eighth career win, having recorded at least one victory in every season he has competed in Champ Car.

Junqueira's teammate Sebastien Bourdais (#1 McDonald's Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) took the pole position and led early in Monterrey. Bourdais was in contention for the win until he made contact and had to pit with a flat right rear tire. The 2004 Champ Car champion fought back from a 12th place restart and brought his car home to a 5th place finish.

Justin Wilson (#9 SanDisk Ford-Cosworth/Lola Bridgestone) turned in another solid run at Monterrey. After qualifying on the outside pole, tying his career-best second place starting spot, the Englishman overcame stalling on pit lane to come home a solid fourth. This also matched his career-best finish and is the third race in a row he has finished in the top five.

Andrew Ranger (#27 Tide/Mi-Jack Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) overcame a qualifying effort of 14th and fought his way up to second place at the end of the race. This was Ranger's first podium finish of his rookie year. He also became the youngest driver to claim a podium finish in Champ Car, eclipsing the former record held by Scott Dixon. Ranger scored the extra championship point for picking up the most positions in the event. The last time a driver had picked up 12 positions in a single event, was when Alex Tagliani picked up his first victory in at Road America last year.

Going into Monterrey Alex Tagliani (#15 Aussie Vineyards Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) was the only driver to have finished in the top five on three separate occasions at the event. He continued this streak by scoring a third place finish, tying his best effort at the track.


Entering the Milwaukee Mile Paul Tracy (#3 Indeck Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) has won three times in 1995, 1999, and 2002. He has also led a total of 531 laps in his career at the mile. Tracy led the Milwaukee event in each of his first seven attempts racking up 347 laps led in those starts. In the last six years he has qualified in the top six for each event at the Mile.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (#31 Rocketsports Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) returns to Milwaukee after a dominating performance last year. After capturing the pole, Hunter-Reay led the race from wire to wire setting a series record for laps lead in a single event.

Jimmy Vasser (#12 Gulfstream/PVK Racing Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) enters Milwaukee as a former race champion. This veteran of the course took the win in 1998 leading 77 of the 200 laps ran in the event.

Last year, first year team RuSPORT was able to put both their entries into the top five at the Milwaukee Mile. Michel Jourdain Jr. earned the team their first podium by placing third. 2004 Roshfrans Rookie of the Year A.J. Allmendinger (#10 Red Bull Ford-Cosworth/Lola/Bridgestone) scored his first Champ Car top five in the event.


The Milwaukee Mile saw a different type of horsepower when first opened in 1876 as a horse-racing track. Automobiles began racing around the one mile track in 1903 making it oldest continuously operating motor speedway in the world. That does not mean that it was used for racing exclusively though, in the 1930s the Green Bay Packers played two games a year in the infield of the track. Champ Cars made their first appearance at The Milwaukee Mile on July 17, 1933. But before the 100-mile race could get underway, a rainstorm hit the track, washing out the show. A group of drivers, led by Wilbur Shaw, convinced the promoter to run the race the following day, in the process coining the now-popular term "rain date." Mauri Rose went on to win that first event.


This year's Champ Car field at the Milwaukee Mile includes three past champions of the event. Last year's winner Ryan Hunter-Reay will join 1998 winner Jimmy Vasser, and 1995, 1999, and 2002 winner Paul Tracy in on track action.

Jimmy Vasser is slated to make his 200th consecutive Champ Car start this weekend in the Time Warner Cable Road Runner 225 Presented by US Bank at The Milwaukee Mile. He holds the series record for the most consecutive starts.

This week at the Milwaukee Mile two rookies will be making their first start on the one mile oval. Timo Glock and Marcus Marshall will be making their first trip to compete in Milwaukee in 2005. Fellow rookie competitors Ronnie Bremer and Andrew Ranger competed in last year's Toyota Atlantics event on the one mile oval.

The Nations Cup standings are the closest they have ever been in the 10-year history of the award. Brazil leads with 56 points with Canada and France trailing one point behind.


1954- The year that the Milwaukee Mile was first paved. 1933- The first year Champ Car first raced at the Milwaukee Mile. 1876- The Milwaukee Mile Opens as a privately owned horse-race track. 289- Number of laps that Paul Tracy has led on his way to three Champ Car victories at the Milwaukee Mile (1995, 1999, and 2002) 250-Number of laps led by Ryan Hunter-Reay on route to setting a new single event Champ Car Record for laps led. (2004) 102 -- How many years race cars have been racing at Milwaukee. 100- Number of miles in the first race Champ Car ran at the Milwaukee Mile. 27- Number of points Green Bay Packers beat the New York Giants in the 1939 NFL Championship game played in the infield of the Milwaukee Mile. 7- Highest number of wins a single driver (Rodger Ward) has recorded at the Mile. 1.032- The actual distance around the Milwaukee Mile.

* Ronnie Bremer (BREH-mur)
* Sebastien Bourdais (Boor-DAY)
* Bruno Junqueira (Joon-CARE-ah)
* Alex Tagliani (Tag-lee-AH-nee)
* Oriol Servia (SIR-vee-ah)
* Nelson Philippe (Fill-EEP)


WHAT: Time Warner Cable Road Runner 225 Presented by U.S. Bank

WHERE:  Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wisconsin

WHEN: Friday-Saturday, June 3-4

SUPPORT EVENTS: ARCA Stock Cars, Formula Drift

CHAMP CAR SCHEDULE (All times local):

9:00 -- 9:30 a.m., Drifting
10:00 a.m. -- 12:00 p.m., Champ Car practice
12:15 -- 1:45 p.m., ARCA practice
2:45 p.m. -- 4:00 p.m., Champ Car qualifying
4:45 -- 5:10 p.m., Drifting
5:30 -- 6:45 p.m., ARCA qualifying.

8:00 -- 8:15 a.m., Drifting
8:30 -- 9:00 a.m., Champ Car warmup; 10:20 a.m. -- 10:40 a.m., Drifting
2:30 p.m., ARCA race.

U.S. TELEVISION SCHEDULE: SATURDAY, JUNE 4 -- Time Warner Cable Road Runner 225 Presented by U.S. Bank, CBS Sports, LIVE

2004 RACE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay
2004 POLESITTER: Ryan Hunter-Reay

TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval
RACE LENGTH: 225 laps, 232.300 miles

Qualifying (one lap) -- 1998, Patrick Carpentier, 185.500 mph (20.028 seconds).
Race -- 2000, Juan Montoya, 142.684 mph (1:37:38.526) based on 225 laps (232.200 miles)

RACE ROUND: 3 of 14 in the 2005 Bridgestone Presents The Champ Car World Series Powered by Ford.

2005 CHAMP CAR WORLD SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1, Bruno Junqueira, Newman/Haas Racing, 59; 2, Sebastien Bourdais, Newman/Haas Racing, 58; 3, , Justin Wilson, RuSPORT, 47; 4, Paul Tracy, Forsythe Championship Racing, 36; 5, Andrew Ranger, Mi-Jack/Conquest Racing, 32.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Justin Wilson , Jimmy Vasser , Bruno Junqueira , Patrick Carpentier , Alex Tagliani , Paul Tracy , Scott Dixon , Oriol Servia , Rick Mears , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Sébastien Bourdais , A.J. Allmendinger , Nelson Philippe , Ronnie Bremer , Marcus Marshall , Andrew Ranger , Timo Glock , Rodger Ward , Michel Jourdain
Teams Conquest Racing