CHAMPCAR/CART: Milwaukee fast facts

<pre> FAST FACTS FOR THE MILLER LITE 225 WHAT: Miller Lite 225. WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis. WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, June 1-4. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota Atlantic Championship. CART ...


WHAT: Miller Lite 225.

WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis.

WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, June 1-4.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota Atlantic Championship.

CART SCHEDULE (All times Central): THURSDAY, JUNE 1 -

Atlantic Open Test,9-9:55 a.m.; Atlantic Open Test, 11:30 a.m.-12:25 p.m.; Indy Lights Open Test, 1:30-2:25 p.m.; Atlantic Open Test, 2:45-3:40 p.m.; Indy Lights Open Test, 4-4:55 p.m.


Atlantic practice, 8:30-9 a.m.; Indy Lights practice, 9:20-10 a.m.; CART practice (2 groups, 45 minutes each), 10:30 a.m.-12:15 p.m.; Indy Lights practice, 1:10-1:40 p.m.; Atlantic practice, 2-2:30 p.m.; CART practice 2:45-4:15 p.m.; Atlantic qualifying,5:05-6 p.m.

SATURDAY, JUNE 3 - Indy Lights practice, 8:05-8:45 a.m.; Atlantic warm-up, 9-9:15 a.m.; CART practice (2 groups, 45 minutes each), 9:30-11:15 a.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 12:15 p.m.-1:15 p.m.; CART qualifying, 1:30-3 p.m.; Atlantic race, 3:15-4:15 p.m.

SUNDAY, JUNE 4 - Indy Lights warm-up, 9:45-10 a..m; CART warm-up, 11-11:30 a.m.; Indy Lights race, 12:30.-1:30 p.m.; Grid Champ Cars, 2:15 p.m.; Miller Lite 225, 3 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ABC-TV (Live, 4 p.m., ET), and in 195 countries worldwide.

RADIO-CART Radio Network. INTERNET - .

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Miller Lite 225 pole qualifying, 5:30 p.m. ET

Saturday, ESPN2; CART 2Day, 10:30 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.



TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval.

RACE LENGTH: 225 laps, 232.2 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1998, Patrick Carpentier, 185.500 mph (20.028 seconds); Race - 1999, Paul Tracy, 128.029 miles per hour.

RACE ROUND: 6 of 20 in the FedEx Championship Series. FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: To be updated following Nazareth event..

NEXT EVENT: June 18, Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit, Detroit, Mich.


Paul Tracy of Team KOOL Green recorded his first FedEx Championship Series victory since 1997 when he recorded his 14th career triumph in the 1999 Miller Lite 225 at The Milwaukee Mile. Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard) scored his second career victory at Milwaukee by finishing 5.880 seconds ahead of Greg Moore (Player's Forsythe Racing Team Mercedes Reynard). Tracy averaged 128.029 miles per hour while claiming his fourth podium finish in the past six events at Milwaukee. Third-place went to Gil de Ferran (Valvoline/Cummins Special Honda Reynard) following final resolution of a post-race review conducted by CART Stewards surrounding an incident on Lap 210. Both rookie Juan Montoya (Target Honda Reynard) and Patrick Carpentier (Player's Forsythe Racing Team Mercedes Reynard) were penalized one lap for passing under caution during the same incident. With 73 points, Montoya maintained the FedEx Championship Series championship lead following the seventh of 20 events. He was followed by Tracy's Team KOOL Green teammate, Dario Franchitti (KOOL Honda Reynard) with 71 and Moore with 69.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour, 48 minutes, 49.169 seconds. Average Speed: 128.029 mph Margin of Victory: 5.880 seconds. Caution Flags: 6 for 39 laps. Lap Leaders: Juan Montoya 84, Jimmy Vasser 55, Paul Tracy 53, Michael Andretti 16, Helio Castroneves 14, Dario Franchitti 3.


Year      Race Winner                   Pole Winner
1979      A.J. Foyt                     A.J. Foyt
1979      Roger McCluskey               Tom Bigelow
1980      Bobby Unser                   Gordon Johncock
1980      Johnny Rutherford             Johnny Rutherford
1981      Mike Mosley                   Gordon Johncock
1981      Tom Sneva                     Johnny Rutherford
1982      Gordon Johncock               Gordon Johncock
1982      Tom Sneva                     Rick Mears
1983      Tom Sneva                     Teo Fabi
1984      Tom Sneva                     Rick Mears
1985      Mario Andretti                Mario Andretti
1986      Michael Andretti              Michael Andretti
1987      Michael Andretti              Roberto Guerrero
1988      Rick Mears                    Michael Andretti
1989      Rick Mears                    Rick Mears
1990      Al Unser Jr.                  Rick Mears
1991      Michael Andretti              Rick Mears
1992      Michael Andretti              Bobby Rahal
1993      Nigel Mansell                 Raul Boesel
1994      Al Unser Jr.                  Raul Boesel
1995      Paul Tracy                    Teo Fabi
1996      Michael Andretti              Paul Tracy
1997      Greg Moore                    Paul Tracy
1998      Jimmy Vasser                  Patrick Carpentier
1999      Paul Tracy                    Helio Castroneves

Total Victories Total Pole Positions

Michael Andretti        5               Rick Mears              5
Tom Sneva               4               Gordon Johncock         3
Rick Mears              2               Johnny Rutherford       3
Al Unser Jr.            2               Michael Andretti        2
Paul Tracy              2               Raul Boesel             2
A.J. Foyt               1               Paul Tracy              2
Roger McCluskey 1                       Teo Fabi                2
Bobby Unser             1               A.J. Foyt               1
Johnny Rutherford       1               Tom Bigelow             1
Mike Mosley             1               Roberto Guerrero        1
Gordon Johncock         1               Bobby Rahal             1
Mario Andretti          1               Patrick Carpentier      1
Nigel Mansell           1               Helio Castroneves       1
Greg Moore              1                                       
Jimmy Vasser            1


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Al Unser Jr. , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Roberto Guerrero , Raul Boesel , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Nigel Mansell , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Bobby Unser , Tom Sneva , Gordon Johncock , Teo Fabi , Greg Moore , A.J. Foyt , Johnny Rutherford