CHAMPCAR/CART: Milwaukee fast facts

<pre> FAST FACTS FOR THE MILLER LITE 225 WHAT: Miller Lite 225. WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis. WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, May 31-June 3. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, CART Toyota Atlantic ...


WHAT: Miller Lite 225.

WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis.

WHEN: Thursday-Sunday, May 31-June 3.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, CART Toyota Atlantic Championship.

CART SCHEDULE (All times Central):

THURSDAY, MAY 31 Atlantic test, 10 a.m.-noon; Atlantic test, 1:30-3:30 p.m.

FRIDAY, JUNE 1 Atlantic practice, 8-8:30 a.m.

Indy Lights practice, 8:45-9:25 a.m. Champ Car practice 9:45-11:30 a.m. Atlantic practice, Noon-12:30 p.m. Champ Car practice, 1:45 p.m.-3:15 p.m. Indy Lights practice, 3:30-4 p.m. Atlantic qualifying, 4:15-5:15 p.m.

SATURDAY, JUNE 2 Indy Lights practice, 8-8:40 a.m. Atlantic warm-up, 8:55-9:10 a.m. Champ Car practice (2 groups, 45 minutes each), 9:30-11:15 a.m. Indy Lights qualifying, 12:15 p.m.-1:15 p.m. Champ Car qualifying, 1:30-3 p.m. Atlantic race, 3:15-4:30 p.m.

SUNDAY, JUNE 3 - Indy Lights warm-up, 9:45-10 a.m Champ Car warm-up, 11-11:30 a.m. Indy Lights race, 12:15-1:30 p.m. Grid Champ Cars, 2:15 p.m. Miller Lite 225, 3 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ABC-TV (Live, 4 p.m., ET), and in 195 countries worldwide.

RADIO-CART Radio Network.


PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Miller Lite 225 pole qualifying, 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday, ESPN2 CART 2Day, 11 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.

2000 CHAMPION: Juan Montoya. 2000 POLESITTER: Juan Montoya.

TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval. RACE LENGTH: 225 laps, 232.2 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1998, Patrick Carpentier, 185.500 mph (20.028 seconds) Race - 2000, Juan Montoya, 142.684 miles per hour.

RACE ROUND: 6 of 20 in the FedEx Championship Series.


1, Kenny Brack, Team Rahal, 49 points 2. Helio Castroneves, Marlboro Team Penske, 47 3. Cristiano da Matta, Newman/Haas Racing, 40 points 4. Paul Tracy, Team KOOL Green, 40 points 5. Jimmy Vasser, Patrick Racing, 40 points

NEXT EVENT: June 17, Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit, Detroit, Mich. </pre> INSTANT REPLAY

Juan Montoya of Target Chip Ganassi Racing brought Toyota the first FedEx Championship Series win in its five-year history when he drove to victory in the rain-delayed Miller Lite 225 before an estimated crowd of 25,000 at The Milwaukee Mile. Barely a week after his dominant performance in winning the Indianapolis 500, Montoya (Target Toyota Lola) led a race-high 179 laps and became the first winner from the pole of the FedEx Championship Series season. He finished 1.015 seconds ahead of runner-up Michael Andretti (Big Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Ford Lola) of Newman/Haas Racing, who recorded his ninth podium finish in 16 career starts at Milwaukee. Third place went to Patrick Carpentier (Player's/Indeck Ford Reynard) of Player's Forsythe Racing, who claimed the third podium finish of his FedEx Championship Series career. Though Paul Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard) of Team KOOL Green finished just 15th, he still maintained the championship lead with 59 points, followed by Roberto Moreno (Visteon Ford Reynard) of Patrick Racing, with 52 and Jimmy Vasser (Target Toyota Lola) of Target Chip Ganassi Racing, with 48. <pre> Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour, 37 minutes, 38.526 seconds. Average Speed: 142.684 mph Margin of Victory: 1.015 seconds. Caution Flags: 2 for 15 laps. Lap Leaders: Juan Montoya, 179 laps; Roberto Moreno, 23; Adrian Fernandez, 16; Kenny Brack, 7.


Yer     Race Winner             Pole Winner
1979    A.J. Foyt               A.J. Foyt
1979    Roger McCluskey         Tom Bigelow
1980    Bobby Unser             Gordon Johncock
1980    Johnny Rutherford       Johnny Rutherford
1981    Mike Mosley             Gordon Johncock
1981    Tom Sneva               Johnny Rutherford
1982    Gordon Johncock         Gordon Johncock
1982    Tom Sneva               Rick Mears
1983    Tom Sneva               Teo Fabi
1984    Tom Sneva               Rick Mears
1985    Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1986    Michael Andretti        Michael Andretti
1987    Michael Andretti        Roberto Guerrero
1988    Rick Mears              Michael Andretti
1989    Rick Mears              Rick Mears
1990    Al Unser Jr.            Rick Mears
1991    Michael Andretti        Rick Mears
1992    Michael Andretti        Bobby Rahal
1993    Nigel Mansell           Raul Boesel
1994    Al Unser Jr.            Raul Boesel
1995    Paul Tracy              Teo Fabi
1996    Michael Andretti        Paul Tracy
1997    Greg Moore              Paul Tracy
1998    Jimmy Vasser            Patrick Carpentier
1999    Paul Tracy              Helio Castroneves
2000    Juan Montoya            Juan Montoya


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Al Unser Jr. , Helio Castroneves , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Roberto Guerrero , Raul Boesel , Adrian Fernandez , Roberto Moreno , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Kenny Brack , Nigel Mansell , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Bobby Unser , Tom Sneva , Chip Ganassi , Gordon Johncock , Teo Fabi , Greg Moore , A.J. Foyt , Cristiano da Matta , Johnny Rutherford
Teams Team Penske , Chip Ganassi Racing