CHAMPCAR/CART: Milwaukee Fact Sheet

Miller Lite 200 WHAT: Miller Lite 200 WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, May 29-31 SUPPORT EVENTS: PPG-Dayton Indy Lights Championship, KOOL/Toyota Atlantic Championship. SCHEDULE:(All times ...

Miller Lite 200

WHAT: Miller Lite 200

WHERE: The Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wis.

WHEN: Friday-Sunday, May 29-31

SUPPORT EVENTS: PPG-Dayton Indy Lights Championship, KOOL/Toyota Atlantic Championship.

SCHEDULE:(All times Central)

FRIDAY, MAY 29 - Atlantic practice, 8:45-9:15 a.m.; Indy Lights practice, 9:30-10:10 a.m. CART practice, 10:30 a.m.-Noon Indy Lights practice, 1-1:30 p.m. Atlantic practice, 1:45-2:15 p.m. CART practice (2 groups/45 minutes each), 2:30-4:15 p.m. Atlantic qualifying, 5:15-6 p.m.

SATURDAY, MAY 30 - Indy Lights practice, 8-8:40 a.m. CART practice, 9-10:15 a.m. Indy Lights qualifying, 11:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Atlantic warm-up, 12:30-12:45 p.m. CART qualifying, 1:15-2:45 p.m. Atlantic race, 3-4 p.m.

SUNDAY, MAY 31 - CART warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m. Indy Lights warm-up, 10:30-10:45 a.m. Grid Champ Cars, 11:45 a.m. Miller Lite 200, 12:30 p.m. Indy Lights race, 3:15 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ESPN (Live, 1:30 p.m., ET). RADIO-CART Radio Network.

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Miller Lite 200 pole qualifying, 6 p.m. ET Saturday, ESPN2; CART 2Day, 1 p.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.



TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval.

RACE LENGTH: 206.4 miles, 200 laps.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1997, Paul Tracy, 184.286 mph (20.160 seconds); Race - 1997, Greg Moore, 119.597 mph.

RACE ROUND: 7 of 19 in the FedEx Championship Series.

PPG CUP POINT LEADERS: 1. Alex Zanardi, 87 points; 2. Greg Moore, 85; 3. Adrian Fernandez, 55; 4. Jimmy Vasser, 51; 5. Michael Andretti, 49.

NEXT EVENT: June 7, ITT Automotive Detroit Grand Prix, Detroit, Mich.


Greg Moore (Player's/Indeck Reynard Mercedes) became the youngest race winner in CART history when he drove to victory in the 1997 Miller 200 at The Milwaukee Mile. Moore's victory, at age 22 year, 1 month and 10 days, allowed him to eclipse Al Unser Jr. who was 22 years, 1 month and 29 days old when he won at Portland in 1984. Moore achieved the victory by staying on track for the final 92 laps of the 200-lap event. He led the final 66 laps and a race-high 104 laps in all while finishing 0.348 seconds ahead of Michael Andretti (Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Swift Ford), CART's all-time victory leader and a five-time winner at The Milwaukee Mile. Jimmy Vasser (Target Reynard Honda) finished third, followed by Raul Boesel (Brahma Reynard Ford) and Mauricio Gugelmin (Hollywood PacWest Mercedes). Paul Tracy (Marlboro Penske Mercedes), who finished sixth, exited Milwaukee with the PPG Cup lead, holding a 94-70 points lead over second-place Andretti with Alex Zanardi (Target Reynard Honda) in third place with 67 points.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour, 43 minutes, 32.873 seconds.

Average Speed: 119.597 mph.

Margin of Victory: 0.348 seconds.

Caution Flags: 4 for 52 laps.

Lap Leaders: Greg Moore, 104 laps; Paul Tracy, 96.


(23 Events)

Year   Race Winner        Pole Winner
1979   A.J. Foyt          A.J. Foyt
1979   Roger McClusky     Tom Bigelow
1980   Bobby Unser        Gordon Johncock
1980   Johnny Rutherford  Johnny Rutherford
1981   Mike Mosley        Gordon Johncock
1981   Tom Sneva          Johnny Rutherford
1982   Gordon Johncock    Gordon Johncock
1982   Tom Sneva          Rick Mears
1983   Tom Sneva          Teo Fabi
1984   Tom Sneva          Rick Mears
1985   Mario Andretti     Mario Andretti
1986   Michael Andretti   Michael Andretti
1987   Michael Andretti   Roberto Guerrero
1988   Rick Mears         Michael Andretti
1989   Rick Mears         Rick Mears
1990   Al Unser Jr.       Rick Mears
1991   Michael Andretti   Rick Mears
1992   Michael Andretti   Bobby Rahal
1993   Nigel Mansell      Raul Boesel
1994   Al Unser, Jr.      Raul Boesel
1995   Paul Tracy         Teo Fabi
1996   Michael Andretti   Paul Tracy
1997   Greg Moore         Paul Tracy


Michael Andretti      5
Tom Sneva             4
Rick Mears            2
Al Unser, Jr.         2
A.J. Foyt             1
Roger McCluskey       1
Bobby Unser           1
Johnny Rutherford     1
Mike Mosley           1
Gordon Johncock       1
Mario Andretti        1
Nigel Mansell         1
Paul Tracy            1
Greg Moore            1


Rick Mears                     5
Gordon Johncock         3
Johnny Rutherford       3
Michael Andretti        2
Raul Boesel             2
Paul Tracy              2
Teo Fabi                2
A.J. Foyt               1
Tom Bigelow             1
Roberto Guerrero        1
Bobby Rahal             1

Source: CART Online

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Al Unser Jr. , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Roberto Guerrero , Raul Boesel , Adrian Fernandez , Bobby Rahal , Paul Tracy , Alex Zanardi , Mauricio Gugelmin , Nigel Mansell , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Bobby Unser , Tom Sneva , Gordon Johncock , Teo Fabi , Greg Moore , A.J. Foyt , Johnny Rutherford , Al Unser