CHAMPCAR/CART: Mid-Ohio Miller Lite 200 fact sheet

WHAT: Miller Lite 200, Round 13 of the 20-event CART FedEx Championship Series WHO: The world's top Champ Car drivers will compete, including defending Miller Lite 200 champion Juan Montoya, Michael Andretti, Kenny Brack, Patrick Carpentier,...

WHAT: Miller Lite 200, Round 13 of the 20-event CART FedEx Championship Series

WHO: The world's top Champ Car drivers will compete, including defending Miller Lite 200 champion Juan Montoya, Michael Andretti, Kenny Brack, Patrick Carpentier, Adrian Fernandez, Gil de Ferran, Cristiano da Matta, Roberto Moreno, Max Papis, Paul Tracy, Jimmy Vasser and others.

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
7721 Steam Corners Road
Lexington, OH 44904

WHEN: Thursday, August 10 - Sunday, August 13

PROMOTER: TrueSports, Inc.

SANCTIONING BODY: Championship Auto Racing Teams, Inc.

Miller Brewing Company
American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
MCI WorldCom, Inc.

SERIES SPONSOR:  Federal Express Corp.
RACE LENGTH:  83 laps/187.40 miles

COURSE: 2.25-mile, 13-turn permanent road course

Juan Montoya - Honda/Reynard
1:42:03.808/109.606 mph TRACK RECORD:
One Lap (2.25 miles)
Dario Franchitti (08/99)
1:05.347/124.394 mph

EVENT HISTORY: The first Champ Car event held at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course took place in 1980 (no race in 1981 and 1982). The 2000 event marks the 18th consecutive year that the FedEx Championship Series visits Mid-Ohio.

Past race winners are Johnny Rutherford (1980), Teo Fabi (1983, 1989), Mario Andretti (1984), Bobby Rahal (1985, 1986), Roberto Guerrero (1987), Emerson Fittipaldi (1988, 1992, 1993), Michael Andretti ( 1990, 1991), Al Unser, Jr. (1994, 1995), Alex Zanardi (1996, 1997), Adrian Fernandez (1998) and Juan Montoya (1999). Two of the three past victors (Zanardi in 1997 and Montoya in 1999) went on to win the series points championship.

At last year's Miller Lite 200, Dario Franchitti of Team KOOL Green set a track record while capturing the pole in qualifying. He led the race for the first 54 laps before being overtaken by teammate Paul Tracy on lap 55. Tracy surrendered his lead to Target/Chip Ganassi Racing driver Juan Montoya on the very next lap and watched as Montoya dominated the rest of the race and claimed victory. Tracy and Franchitti finished second and third respectively. The entire race was relatively clean with only six laps run under caution.


Dayton Indy Lights Championship (34 laps/76.78 miles)

The Dayton Indy Lights Championship returns to Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for the first time since 1994. The Dayton Indy Lights Championship is CART's top-level development series, and is internationally recognized as one of the most competitive top-tier training ground series in the world. All drivers race Lola T97/20 chassis powered by 425-horsepower GM V6 engines that are sealed to prevent modifications. Indy Lights machines are capable of reaching speeds in excess of 190 mph. The Mid-Ohio race is Round Seven of 12 on the Dayton Indy Lights Championship schedule.

Barber Dodge Pro Series (40 minutes)

Similar to the Dayton Indy Lights Championship, the Barber Dodge Pro Series is a training ground for CART. The series features a "spec" format, placing emphasis on driver development and skill rather than equipment. Competitors race identically prepared cars owned, maintained and transported by The Barber Dodge Pro Series. The open-wheel chassis are manufactured by Reynard and are powered by 3.5 liter V6 Dodge engines capable of producing 265 horsepower. The Barber Dodge Pro Series is now in its 15th year of competition.

American City Racing League (30 minutes)

The American City Racing League was created in 1988 to provide high quality recognition for cities and sponsors through motorsports. Teams from Akron, Atlanta, Chicago, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Detroit, Miami, Milwaukee, Palm Beach, Philadelphia, New York, Reading, St. Louis and Tampa score points based on the team's top three leading drivers' points. Drivers race for both individual and team prizes in Sports 2000, Classic Sports 2000 and Sports 1600 vehicles. Similar to football, a team effort can often outweigh an individual performance to help a city claim victory.

TICKETS: Call 1-800-MID-OHIO or (419) 884-4000, Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. or visit the track's web site at <>. Weekend general admission (Thursday-Sunday) tickets are $50.00. Tickets ordered prior to August 3, 2000, at 5:00 p.m. will receive a 10 percent discount.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Roberto Guerrero , Max Papis , Adrian Fernandez , Roberto Moreno , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Alex Zanardi , Kenny Brack , Mario Andretti , Emerson Fittipaldi , Chip Ganassi , Teo Fabi , Cristiano da Matta , Johnny Rutherford
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing