CHAMPCAR/CART: Mid-Ohio fast facts

<pre> Fast Facts For The Miller Lite 200 WHAT: Miller Lite 200. WHERE: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, Ohio. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, Aug. 10-12. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Barber Dodge Pro Series, ...

<pre> Fast Facts For The Miller Lite 200

WHAT: Miller Lite 200. WHERE: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, Ohio. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, Aug. 10-12.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Barber Dodge Pro Series, U.S. Formula 2000 National Championship, American Cities Racing League


FRIDAY, AUGUST 10 Barber Dodge Practice, 8:45-9:15 a.m. Champ Car practice, 9:30-11:15 a.m. Indy Lights practice, 11:35 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Champ Car practice, 1:30-3:15 p.m. Indy Lights qualifying, 3:30-4 p.m. Barber Dodge qualifying, 4:15-1:45 p.m.

SATURDAY, AUGUST 11 Indy Lights practice, 8:45-9:25 a.m. Champ Car practice, 9:45-11:15 a.m. Barber Dodge qualifying, 11:30 a.m.-noon Indy Lights qualifying, 12:15-12:45 p.m. Champ Car qualifying (2 groups, 30 minutes each), 1:45-3 p.m.

SUNDAY, AUGUST 12 Champ Car warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m. Indy Lights warm-up, 10:20-10:35 a.m. Grid Champ Cars, 11:15 a.m. Miller Lite 200, Noon Indy Lights race, Indy Lights race, 2:45 p.m. Barber Dodge race, 4:15 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV - ESPN, live, 1 p.m. ET. RADIO - CART Radio Network. INTERNET - .

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Miller Lite 200 pole qualifying, 1 a.m. ET Sunday , ESPN2 CART 2Day, 10:30 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.


TRACK LAYOUT: 2.258-mile permanent road course. RACE LENGTH: 83 laps, 187.414 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap/2.258 miles) - 1999, Dario Franchitti and 2000, Gil de Ferran 124.394 mph (1 minute, 5.347 seconds). Race - 1994, Al Unser Jr., 110.770 miles per hour.

RACE NUMBER: 13 of 21 in the FedEx Championship Series.

FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1. Kenny Brack, Team Rahal, 104 points 2. Helio Castroneves, Marlboro Team Penske, 82 3. Dario Franchitti, Team KOOL Green, 81 4. Michael Andretti, Team Motorola, 73 5. Gil de Ferran, Marlboro Team Penske, 72.


Marlboro Team Penske teammates Helio Castroneves and Gil de Ferran capped off a dominant weekend by posting the team's first one-two finish in a Champ Car event since 1994 in the 2000 Miller Lite 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Castroneves (Marlboro Honda Reynard) led a race-high 55 laps from the outside pole to earn his second career victory, while de Ferran (Marlboro Honda Reynard_, the polesitter, led the event's other 28 laps to earn his fourth podium result of the season. The one-two finish was the first for Marlboro Team Penske in a CART-sanctioned event since Paul Tracy and Al Unser, Jr. had finished first and second, respectively at Nazareth in 1994. Christian Fittipaldi (Big Kmart/Route 66 Ford Lola) of Newman/HaasRacing finished third to match a season-best result established at Portland. Fittipaldi's Newman/Haas Racing teammate, Michael Andretti (Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Ford Lola), finished eighth and maintained the FedEx Championship Series championship lead with 125 points, followed by de Ferran with 106 and Roberto Moreno (Visteon Ford Reynard) of Patrick Racing with 100.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of race: 1 hour, 44 minutes, 59.029 seconds. Average speed: 106.558 mph. Margin of victory: 4.425 seconds. Caution flags: 2 for 9 laps. Lap leaders: Helio Castroneves, 55 laps; Gil de Ferran, 28.

MID-OHIO CART RACE HISTORY (19 Events) Year Race Winner Pole Winner 1980 Johnny Rutherford Al Unser Sr. 1983 Teo Fabi Bobby Rahal 1984 Mario Andretti Mario Andretti 1985 Bobby Rahal Bobby Rahal 1986 Bobby Rahal Mario Andretti 1987 Roberto Guerrero Roberto Guerrero 1988 Emerson Fittipaldi Danny Sullivan 1989 Teo Fabi Teo Fabi 1990 Michael Andretti Michael Andretti 1991 Michael Andretti Michael Andretti 1992 Emerson Fittipaldi Michael Andretti 1993 Emerson Fittipaldi Nigel Mansell 1994 Al Unser Jr. Al Unser Jr. 1995 Al Unser Jr. Jacques Villeneuve 1996 Alex Zanardi Alex Zanardi 1997 Alex Zanardi Bryan Herta 1998 Adrian Fernandez Dario Franchitti 1999 Juan Montoya Dario Franchitti 2000 Helio Castroneves Gil de Ferran

All-time victories Emerson Fittipaldi 3 Bobby Rahal 2 Teo Fabi 2 Michael Andretti 2 Al Unser Jr. 2 Alex Zanardi 2 Johnny Rutherford 1 Mario Andretti 1 Roberto Guerrero 1 Adrian Fernandez 1 Juan Montoya 1 Helio Castroneves 1

All-time pole positions Michael Andretti 3 Bobby Rahal 2 Mario Andretti 2 Dario Franchitti 2 Al Unser 1 Roberto Guerrero 1 Danny Sullivan 1 Teo Fabi 1 Nigel Mansell 1 Al Unser Jr. 1 Jacques Villeneuve 1 Alex Zanardi 1 Bryan Herta 1


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Teams Team Penske