CHAMPCAR/CART: Long Beach fast facts

FAST FACTS FOR THE TOYOTA GRAND PRIX OF LONG BEACH WHAT: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. WHERE: Streets of downtown Long Beach, Calif. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, April 6-8. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota ...


WHAT: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

WHERE: Streets of downtown Long Beach, Calif.

WHEN: Friday-Sunday, April 6-8.

SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, Toyota Atlantic Championship, Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race, Trans-Am Championship.

CART SCHEDULE (All times local): FRIDAY, APRIL 6 - Atlantic practice, 8-8:25 a.m.; Indy Lights practice, 8:40-9:15 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 9:30-11:30 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 1:15-3 p.m.; Atlantic qualifying, 3:15-3:45 p.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 4:35-5:05 p.m.

SATURDAY, APRIL 7 - Atlantic qualifying, 8-8:40 a.m.; Indy Lights practice, 9-9:40 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 10-11:15 a.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 1-1:30 p.m.; Champ Car qualifying (2 groups/30 minutes each), 1:45-3 p.m.; Atlantic race, 3:15-4:15 p.m.

SUNDAY, APRIL 8 - Indy Lights warm-up, 8:30-8:45 a.m.; Champ Car warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m.; Indy Lights race, 10:15-11:25 a.m.; Grid Champ Cars, 12:15 p.m.; Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, 1 p.m. ET.

BROADCAST: TV-ABC-TV, live , 4 p.m ET. RADIO-CART Radio Network.

WEBCAST-Live at .

SUPPORT PROGRAMMING: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach qualifying, Sunday, 2 a.m. ET, ESPN2 (tape delay); CART 2Day, Sunday, 11 a.m. ET, ESPN2.



TRACK LAYOUT: 1.968-mile temporary street circuit.

RACE LENGTH: 82 laps, 161.376 miles.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 2000, Gil de Ferran, 104.969 mph (1 minute, 7.494 seconds). Race - 2000, Paul Tracy, 82.626 mph.

RACE ROUND: 2 of 21 in the FedEx Championship Series.

FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1, Cristiano da Matta, Newman/Haas Racing, 21; 2, Gil de Ferran, Marlboro Team Penske, 16; 3, Paul Tracy, Team KOOL Green, 14; 4, Michael Andretti, Team Motorola, 12; 5, Kenny Brack, Team Rahal, 11.

NEXT EVENT: April 29, Texas 600, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.


Paul Tracy of Team KOOL Green recorded the 16th victory of his 10-year Champ Car career and his second on the streets of Long Beach, Calif. when he captured the 2000 Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. The victory gave Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard) sole possession of eighth place on CART's all-time victory list, breaking a tie with two-time FedEx Championship Series champion Alex Zanardi. Tracy's triumph from the 17th starting position represented the second-deepest position the grid from which anyone had driven to victory in a CART road- or street-course event. Tracy led the final 21 laps of the 82-lap event en route to a 3.191 second victory over Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Honda Reynard) of Marlboro Team Penske. Jimmy Vasser (Target Toyota Lola) finished third. His victory allowed Tracy to take a 34-26 points lead over Vasser into Round 3 of the championship at Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Max Papis (Miller Lite Ford Reynard) of Team Rahal stood third in the championship with 20 points.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour, 57 minutes, 11.132 seconds.
Average Speed: 82.626 mph.
Margin of Victory: 3.191 seconds.
Caution Flags: 6 for 20 laps.
Lap Leaders: Gil de Ferran, 30 laps; Paul Tracy, 21; Michael Andretti, 13; Roberto Moreno, 10; Takuya Kurosawa, 7; Memo Gidley, 1.


Year    Race Winner             Pole Winner
1984    Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1985    Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1986    Michael Andretti        Danny Sullivan
1987    Mario Andretti          Mario Andretti
1988    Al Unser Jr.            Danny Sullivan
1989    Al Unser Jr.            Al Unser Jr.
1990    Al Unser Jr.            Al Unser Jr.
1991    Al Unser Jr.            Michael Andretti
1992    Danny Sullivan          Michael Andretti
1993    Paul Tracy              Nigel Mansell
1994    Al Unser Jr.            Paul Tracy
1995    Al Unser Jr.            Michael Andretti
1996    Jimmy Vasser            Gil de Ferran
1997    Alex Zanardi            Gil de Ferran
1998    Alex Zanardi            Bryan Herta
1999    Juan Montoya            Tony Kanaan
2000    Paul Tracy              Gil de Ferran


1. Al Unser Jr.         6                                       
2. Mario Andretti       3                                       
3. Alex Zanardi         2                                       
   Paul Tracy           2        
5. Michael Andretti     1                                       
   Danny Sullivan       1                                               
   Jimmy Vasser 1
   Juan Montoya 1                                       

Pole Positions

1. Mario Andretti       3
   Michael Andretti     3
   Gil de Ferran        3
4. Danny Sullivan       2
   Al Unser Jr.         2
6. Nigel Mansell        1       
   Paul Tracy           1 
   Bryan Herta          1
   Tony Kanaan          1


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Al Unser Jr. , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Memo Gidley , Max Papis , Roberto Moreno , Paul Tracy , Alex Zanardi , Tony Kanaan , Bryan Herta , Kenny Brack , Nigel Mansell , Mario Andretti , Danny Sullivan , Takuya Kurosawa , Cristiano da Matta
Teams Team Penske