CHAMPCAR/CART: Laguna Seca Fact Sheet

FAST FACTS FOR THE HONDA GRAND PRIX OF MONTEREY FEATURING THE SHELL 300 WHAT: Honda Grand Prix of Monterey Featuring the Shell 300. WHERE: Laguna Seca Raceway, Monterey, Calif. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, Sept. 10-12. SUPPORT EVENTS:...


WHAT: Honda Grand Prix of Monterey Featuring the Shell 300.

WHERE: Laguna Seca Raceway, Monterey, Calif.

WHEN: Friday-Sunday, Sept. 10-12.

SUPPORT EVENTS: PPG-Dayton Indy Lights Championship, KOOL/Toyota Atlantic Championship, Barber Dodge Pro Series.

SCHEDULE (All times Pacific): FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 10 - Atlantic practice, 8:45-9:15 a.m.; Indy Lights practice, 9:30-10:10 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 10:30 a.m.-Noon; Indy Lights qualifying, 1-1:30 p.m.; Atlantic qualifying, 1:45-2:15 p.m.; Champ Car qualifying, 2:30-3:45 p.m.

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 11 - Indy Lights practice, 8-8:40 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 9-10:15 a.m.; Atlantic qualifying, 11:15 a.m.-11:45 p.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, noon-12:30 p.m.; Champ Car qualifying, 12:45-2 p.m.; Atlantic race, 3:30-4:45 p.m.

SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 12 - Indy Lights warm-up, 8:20-8:50 a.m.; Champ Car warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m.; Grid Champ Cars, 11:15 a.m.; Shell 300, noon; Indy Lights race, 2:45 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ESPN (Live, 3 p.m., ET, and in 195 countries worldwide).

RADIO-CART Radio Network.

PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Shell 300 pole qualifying, 1:30-2:30 a.m. ET late Saturday/early Sunday, ESPN2; CART 2Day, 2:30 p.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2.



TRACK LAYOUT: 2.238-mile permanent road course.

RACE LENGTH: 185.754 miles, 83 laps.

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1997, Bryan Herta, 118.666 mph (one minute, 7.895 seconds); Race - 1997, Jimmy Vasser, 109.647 mph.

RACE ROUND: 17 of 20 in the FedEx Championship Series.

FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS FOR THE PPG CUP: 1. Juan Montoya, 194 points; 2. Dario Franchitti, 171; 3. Michael Andretti, 124; 4. Paul Tracy, 122; 5. Christian Fittipaldi, 101.

NEXT EVENT: September 26, Texaco Grand Prix of Houston, Houston, Tex.

1998 Race Replay

Bryan Herta held off longtime nemesis Alex Zanardi during a two-lap sprint to the checkered flag to claim his first career FedEx Championship Series victory in the 1998 Texaco/Havoline 300 at Laguna Seca Raceway. Herta (Shell Ford Reynard), the polesitter, led 81 of 83 laps, and was in command when a five-lap caution period for contact involving Gil de Ferran (Valvoline/Cummins Special Honda Reynard), Patrick Carpentier (Player's/Indeck Mercedes Reynard) and Scott Pruett (Visteon Ford Reynard) ended at the start of Lap 82. Zanardi (Target Honda Reynard) made several attempts at a decisive pass during the remaining two laps, but Herta held him off to become the 10th driver in 16 CART events at Laguna Seca to win from the pole. Tony Kanaan (LCI Honda Reynard finished third, a career-best result in his rookie campaign. Zanardi's runner-up performance was a FedEx Championship Series-record 12th podium effort in 16 starts and the 18th in his last 23 starts overall. After clinching the FedEx Championship Series championship a week earlier at Vancouver, Zanardi also tied the single-season points record of 234 established by Michael Andretti in 1991. Zanardi exited Laguna Seca with a 234-136 points lead over Target/Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Jimmy Vasser (Target Honda Reynard) in the championship, while Adrian Fernandez (Tecate/Quaker State/Labatt Ford Reynard) stood third at 126.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour, 55 minutes, 13.472 seconds. Average Speed: 96.726 mph Margin of Victory: 0.343 seconds. Caution Flags: 3 for 16 laps. Lap Leaders: Bryan Herta, 81; Dario Franchitti, 2.

LAGUNA SECA RACE HISTORY (16 Events) Year Race Winner Pole Winner 1983 Teo Fabi Teo Fabi 1984 Bobby Rahal Mario Andretti 1985 Bobby Rahal Bobby Rahal 1986 Bobby Rahal Mario Andretti 1987 Bobby Rahal Mario Andretti 1988 Danny Sullivan Danny Sullivan 1989 Rick Mears Rick Mears 1990 Danny Sullivan Danny Sullivan 1991 Michael Andretti Michael Andretti 1992 Michael Andretti Michael Andretti 1993 Paul Tracy Emerson Fittipaldi 1994 Paul Tracy Paul Tracy 1995 Gil de Ferran Jacques Villeneuve 1996 Alex Zanardi Alex Zanardi 1997 Jimmy Vasser Bryan Herta 1998 Bryan Herta Bryan Herta

Total Victories Total Pole Positions

Bobby Rahal             4                       Mario Andretti          3
Danny Sullivan          2                       Michael Andretti        2
Michael Andretti        2                       Danny Sullivan          2
Paul Tracy.             2                       Bryan Herta             2
Teo Fabi                1                       Teo Fabi                1
Rick Mears              1                       Bobby Rahal             1
Gil de Ferran           1                       Rick Mears              1
Alex Zanardi            1                       Emerson Fittipaldi      1
Jimmy Vasser            1                       Paul Tracy              1
Bryan Herta             1                       Jacques Villeneuve      1 
                                                Alex Zanardi            1


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Jacques Villeneuve , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Adrian Fernandez , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Christian Fittipaldi , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Alex Zanardi , Tony Kanaan , Bryan Herta , Scott Pruett , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Danny Sullivan , Emerson Fittipaldi , Chip Ganassi , Teo Fabi
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing