CHAMPCAR/CART: Kanaan Laguna Seca Saturday qualifying notes

Tony Kanaan and the ...

Tony Kanaan and the #55 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard qualified sixth for Sunday's Honda Grand Prix of Monterey. He toured the 2.238-mile Laguna Seca Raceway road course in 1 minute, 9.515 seconds (an average of 115.900 mph) for the outside-third-row starting spot.

Mo Nunn Racing teammate Casey Mears and the #66 Pioneer-WorldCom/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard will start Sunday's race on the outside of the ninth row. Mears, the 23-year-old nephew of three-time CART champion Rick Mears and replacement for the injured Alex Zanardi for the second race in a row, clocked a fast lap of 1:10.425 (114.403 mph). It was the sixth-fastest time in today's first of two qualifying groups, and the 18th-fastest time overall. Current points leader and defending series champion Gil de Ferran grabbed the top spot in 1:08.596 (117.453 mph) with fellow Team Penske driver and defending race winner Helio Castroneves alongside on the front row after a lap of 1:08.678 (117.313 mph). Rookie Scott Dixon qualified third in 1:08.972 (116.813 mph).

Race time Sunday is 1 p.m. local time (4 p.m. EDT) with a live broadcast set for ESPN. The Sunday-morning warm-up show CART2DAY are set for ESPN2 at 11 a.m. EDT. Today's qualifying highlights can be seen on ESPN2 at 2 a.m. EDT Sunday.

"I'd like to say we're satisfied with that effort but we're not. I went out and set a fast time early, and then we made a change that probably we shouldn't have because it didn't help us go any faster. That's what happens. This is a risk business. We still have a lot of work to do to give ourselves a competitive race car. We're a lot better off than a lot of other people, on paper, but this is such a difficult place to pass that I sure would love to have started even closer to the front. Let's see what happens tomorrow. It'll be the usual story - keep the leaders in sight and stay out of trouble."


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Casey Mears , Helio Castroneves , Gil de Ferran , Scott Dixon , Alex Zanardi , Tony Kanaan , Rick Mears , Mo Nunn
Teams Team Penske