CHAMPCAR/CART: Kanaan Fontana qualifying notes

Tony Kanaan and the ...

Tony Kanaan and the #55 Hollywood/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard qualified on the outside of the seventh row for Sunday's 500-mile CART FedEx Championship Series season finale at California Speedway. Kanaan recorded a fast lap of 32.432 seconds (an average of 225.222 mph) around the 2-mile high-banked oval here, 14th-fastest overall.

Teammate Casey Mears had to go to his back-up #66 Pioneer-WorldCom/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Reynard as mechanical problems prompted him to abort his initial qualifying attempt. Mears will start on the inside of the 11th row after a fast lap of 32.607 seconds (224.013 mph). Alex Tagliani will start on the pole after a fast lap of 31.935 seconds (228.727 mph). He'll be joined on the front row by Cristiano da Matta, who recorded the second-fastest lap of the day at 32.009 seconds (228.188 mph). Kenny Brack qualified third at 32.060 seconds (227.8345 mph). Shinji Nakano was the fastest Honda qualifier. He'll start 12th.

Race time Sunday is 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 p.m. EST) with a live broadcast set for ESPN. Today's qualifying highlights can be seen on ESPN2 at 1 a.m. EST. The Sunday-morning warm-up show CART2DAY will be on ESPN2 at 12:30 p.m. EST Sunday.

"We've been working on our race setup all weekend so far, so I knew we weren't going to qualify much better than we did. I was flat out all the way around the track on both qualifying laps, so that's all were going to get today. I knew what we had for qualifying, and I know what we have for the race, and I'll say that I'm much more pleased with what we have for the race. Qualifying doesn't matter here at this race. My car ran pretty well in the draft during practice both Friday morning and Saturday morning. It's a car that I can take to the front when the time comes. Hey, I've led almost 180 laps this season but never the right one. I'll be satisfied with just one tomorrow ... the very last one!"


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Casey Mears , Alex Tagliani , Tony Kanaan , Shinji Nakano , Kenny Brack , Cristiano da Matta , Mo Nunn