CHAMPCAR/CART: Greg Moore Legacy Award finalists announced

Four finalists announced for 2002 Greg Moore Legacy Award. INDIANAPOLIS (November 3, 2002) - 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series race winners Paul Tracy and Patrick Carpentier, 2002 CART Toyota Atlantic Championship runner-up Michael Valiante,...

Four finalists announced for 2002 Greg Moore Legacy Award.

INDIANAPOLIS (November 3, 2002) - 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series race winners Paul Tracy and Patrick Carpentier, 2002 CART Toyota Atlantic Championship runner-up Michael Valiante, and 2002 Barber Dodge Pro Series champion AJ Allmendinger have been announced as the finalists for the Third Annual Greg Moore Legacy Award.

The award was created in honor of Canadian Champ Car star Greg Moore, who lost his life in the 1999 CART season finale, and will be presented to the driver who best typifies Moore's legacy of outstanding talent on track, as well as displaying a dynamic personality with fans, media, and within the CART community. As Moore was a product of the CART Ladder System - having competed in the Dayton Indy Lights Championship from 1993-95 and winning 10 of 12 races en route to the series title in 1995 - drivers from the top two CART development series are also eligible for the award.

"Greg Moore was one of the brightest stars in the CART FedEx Championship Series prior to his tragic death," said CART President and CEO Christopher R. Pook. "I have no doubt that Greg would have won several more races and the series championship. The four drivers that have been chosen as finalists for the 2002 Greg Moore Legacy Award have shown the same kind of spirit and dedication throughout this season that Greg had throughout his entire career. This is an extremely special award, and all of the drivers who have been nominated should feel tremendously honored."

A seven-member panel - including Pook, CART Toyota Atlantic Championship president Vicki O'Connor, Player's/Forsythe Racing owner Gerald Forsythe, Imperial Tobacco president and Chief Operating Officer Bob Bexon, Championship Drivers Association CART representative Adrian Fernandez, SPEED Channel commentator Derek Daly, and RACER magazine senior editor David Phillips - voted on the 2002 recipient during The 500 Presented by Toyota this weekend at California Speedway.

Tracy, a native of Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, collected his 19th career CART FedEx Championship Series race victory in June's Miller Lite 250 at The Milwaukee Mile, and owns four other podium finishes in Champ Car competition this season. Carpentier, of Ville Lasalle, Quebec, Canada, is enjoying the best season of his five-year CART FedEx Championship Series career, having scored his second and third career Champ Car victories at Cleveland and Mid-Ohio, respectively. Carpentier currently stands third in the 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series point standings, and was also Moore's teammate with Player's/Forsythe Racing in 1998 and '99.

Valiante was born in New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada and currently resides in Burnaby, B.C. He earned three victories in the 2002 CART Toyota Atlantic Championship, equaling Ryan Hunter-Reay for the series lead in wins, and finished runner-up to Jon Fogarty in the series championship. Allmendinger, of Hollister, Calif., finished on the podium in all but one of 10 Barber Dodge Pro Series starts, including a series-high six victories, en route to the 2002 Barber Dodge Pro Series title. His worst finish of the season was a fourth place result in Cleveland.

Brazilian Helio Castroneves was the inaugural winner of the Greg Moore Legacy Award in 2000, and Team KOOL Green pilot Dario Franchitti - a close friend of Moore's - was last year's recipient.

"It was very special to receive the Greg Moore Legacy Award last year because of what Greg meant as a friend and as a competitor," said Franchitti. "Greg was the guy that brought all the drivers together away from the racetrack. He had such a great personality and he was so easy to get along with. On the track he was a fierce competitor from his first day as a rookie at Homestead to making all those crazy passes through all five of his wins. I would still much prefer if Greg was still hanging around but it was a very special moment to win the award."

The award will be presented during the 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series Victory Celebration at the Hotel Inter-Continental in Miami on November 22.

Championship Auto Racing Teams, Inc. (NYSE: MPH) owns, operates and markets the CART FedEx Championship Series. Newly-crowned 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series champion Cristiano da Matta is among the open-wheel stars competing with teams such as Newman/Haas Racing, Player's/Forsythe Racing, Team Rahal, Fernández Racing, Patrick Racing, Herdez Competition, Mo Nunn Racing, Walker Racing and others. CART Champ Cars are thoroughbred racing machines that reach speeds in excess of 200 miles per hour, showcasing the technical expertise of manufacturers such as Ford Motor Company, Lola Cars, Reynard Motorsport and Bridgestone/Firestone North American Tire, LLC. The 19-race 2002 CART FedEx Championship Series will be broadcast by new television partners, CBS, FOX and SPEED Channel. CART also owns and operates its top development series, the CART Toyota Atlantic Championship. Learn more about CART's open-wheel racing series at


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Adrian Fernandez , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Jon Fogarty , Michael Valiante , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Gerald Forsythe , Derek Daly , Greg Moore , Cristiano da Matta , Mo Nunn