CHAMPCAR/CART: Ford Racing Milwaukee preview

Miller Lite 225 - The Milwaukee Mile - West Allis, WI WHEN: June 3, 2001 TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval RACE DISTANCE: 232.200 miles (225 laps) TELEVISION COVERAGE (ET): ABC; 4:00 PM (live) DEFENDING CHAMPION: Juan Montoya DEFENDING ...

Miller Lite 225 - The Milwaukee Mile - West Allis, WI

WHEN: June 3, 2001

TRACK LAYOUT: 1.032-mile oval
RACE DISTANCE: 232.200 miles (225 laps)


DEFENDING POLESITTER: Juan Montoya (177.769 miles per hour; 20.899 seconds)

QUALIFYING RECORD: Patrick Carpentier, May 30, 1998 (185.500 miles per hour; 20.028 seconds)

2001 DRIVER POINTS (4 races): BRACK (49), Helio Castroneves (47), Cristiano da Matta (40), Paul Tracy (40), Jimmy Vasser (40)

2001 MANUFACTURER POINTS (4 races): Honda (70), Toyota (70), FORD-COSWORTH (52)

BACK IN THE USA - Ford-Cosworth heads to The Milwaukee Mile after earning its fourth consecutive victory at the Twin Ring Motegi circuit in Motegi, Japan, on May 19th. Kenny Brack led 75 laps, including the final 52, en route to his first career CART victory and his first in an open-wheel car since winning the 1999 Indianapolis 500. Ford has now won all four CART races contested at Motegi since it opened in 1998 (Adrian Fernandez - '98 & '99, Michael Andretti - '00, Kenny Brack - '01).

BRACK CAPTURES FIRST CART VICTORY - Although it didn't come until his 24th Champ Car start, Team Rahal driver Kenny Brack finally scored his first career CART victory on the 1.5-mile oval at Motegi, Japan. Brack had been one of the fastest drivers in the FedEx Championship Series through the first four events of the 2001 season with two pole positions (Monterrey and Texas), two outside pole positions (Long Beach and Nazareth) and two top-five finishes (Monterrey and Nazareth). Not only did Brack manage his first open-wheel victory since capturing the 1999 Indianapolis 500, Brack's win also helped Ford extend its Motegi winning streak to four (Adrian Fernandez in 1998 and '99, Michael Andretti in 2000).

FORD-COSWORTH AT MILWAUKEE - Ford-Cosworth has scored four victories at The Milwaukee Mile since Ford re-entered CART competition in 1992, while Cosworth Racing has won 15 CART-sanctioned events in West Allis since 1979. Ford-Cosworth has not won a race at Milwaukee since 1996 when Michael Andretti led 59 laps, including the final six, to clinch the win and establish the modern-day track record with five career CART victories on the one-mile oval.

ARCIERO-BLAIR RACING TO CAMPAIGN FORD-COSWORTH ENGINES - This weekend's Miller Lite 225 will mark the first race that Arciero-Blair Racing, formerly known as Barry Brooke Racing, will campaign the Ford-Cosworth XF engine with driver Max Wilson. The team, which had used Illmor's Phoenix engine at each of the first four CART events of 2001, announced they were switching to Ford power shortly after the race at Nazareth.

JOURDAIN A STRONG QUALIFIER - Michel Jourdain, Jr., has been a strong qualifier through the first five events of the 2001 CART schedule. With three top 10 starts this season, Jourdain has already eclipsed the two top-10 starts he amassed in his five previous seasons campaigning the FedEx Championship (two in 1997). After qualifying 7th in Long Beach, Jourdain started 3rd in Nazareth and 7th in Motegi, where he scored his first points of the year with an 11th-place result.

FORD FAVORITES AT MILWAUKEE - Although there are several drivers capable of winning a race in the FedEx Championship Series, Ford-Cosworth drivers Kenny Brack, Patrick Carpentier and Max Papis each stand a strong chance of sipping champagne this weekend. Here's a quick look at each of these drivers and why they should be considered favorites:

Kenny Brack - Heads to Milwaukee after capturing his first career CART victory at Motegi, Japan, on May 19th. Has also scored two pole positions (Mexico and Texas) and two outside pole positions (2nd at Long Beach and Nazareth) in five CART events thus far this season. Brack finished 4th last season at Milwaukee despite qualifying 16th on the starting grid, and for the first time in his career he sits atop the CART drivers' standings with 49 points.

Patrick Carpentier - Holds the Milwaukee Mile track record having captured the pole position in 1998 with a qualifying lap of 185.500 miles per hour, or 20.028 seconds. Carpentier's best finish at Milwaukee was 3rd last season, and he has never qualified out of the top eight in four starts at the historic one-mile oval (3rd in 2000, 8th in 1999, 1st in 1998, and 4th in 1997).

Max Papis - Is coming off his best result of the season following a 6th-place finish at the Twin Ring Motegi (Japan) on May 19th. Papis has performed well on short ovals throughout his career, finishing 7th at Milwaukee a year ago while also scoring his first career victory at Homestead Motor Speedway (1.5-mile) last season and his first career pole position on the one-mile oval at Chicago in 1999.

MANSELL RUNS LAPS AT ROCKINGHAM - Former CART and Formula One champion Nigel Mansell opened the Rockingham Motor Speedway on May 28th by lapping the new 1.5-mile circuit in a 2000 Reynard chassis powered by a Ford-Cosworth XF. Mansell's lap of 163.590 miles per hour was the fastest ever recorded in the United Kingdom, and was more than three miles per hour faster than the previous lap established by Finnish Formula One champion Keke Rosberg in 1985 at Silverstone (160.400 mph).

OVAL SUCCESS - Ford-Cosworth has been very successful in the last 12 CART races held on oval tracks. Ford-Cosworth had at least one driver appear on the podium in each of the last 12 oval races dating back to Fontana in 1999, scoring six victories (twice at Fontana, twice at Motegi, Rio and Homestead), eight runner-up finishes (Nazareth, twice at Fontana, Gateway, Chicago, Michigan, Milwaukee and Homestead) and five third-place results (Gateway, Milwaukee, Nazareth, Motegi and '99 at Fontana).

COSWORTH CHAMP CAR WINS - Following Kenny Brack's victory in Motegi, Japan, Cosworth Racing has now scored 206 victories in USAC- and CART-sanctioned races since entering North American open-wheeled racing in 1976. Cosworth has won 160 CART-sanctioned races and 46 USAC-sanctioned races, including five victories in 1996 with the Ford-Cosworth XB engine in the inaugural season of the Indy Racing League (IRL) (was sanctioned by USAC). Michael Andretti has won the most races using a Cosworth engine (25), followed by Rick Mears (20), Bobby Rahal (18), Mario Andretti (16) and Johnny Rutherford (16).

SPARK PLUGS - Ford-Cosworth has had just three front row starters at Milwaukee since Ford re-entered CART racing in 1992 - all from the pole. Raul Boesel scored back-to-back pole positions in 1993 and 1994, while Teo Fabi led the field to the green flag in 1995 ... Max Papis' captured his only career CART pole position on the one-mile oval at Chicago in 1999 ... Kenny Brack has led a series-high 228 laps through five races this season ... Oriol Servia's best career finish on an oval came at Gateway last season (5th) ... Bryan Herta's last oval track podium finish (2nd) came at Michigan in 1996 ... Papis' best qualifying effort at Milwaukee was 9th last season ... Bryan Herta is Ford-Cosworth's most experienced CART driver this season with 104 career Champ Car starts.

-Ford Racing-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Raul Boesel , Max Papis , Adrian Fernandez , Bobby Rahal , Patrick Carpentier , Paul Tracy , Max Wilson , Oriol Servia , Bryan Herta , Kenny Brack , Mario Andretti , Rick Mears , Keke Rosberg , Johnny Rutherford , Michel Jourdain