CHAMPCAR/CART: Fontana: Mo Nunn Racing Friday report

FONTANA, Calif. (Friday, Nov. 1, 2002) -- Tony Kanaan and the ...

FONTANA, Calif. (Friday, Nov. 1, 2002) -- Tony Kanaan and the #10 Pioneer-WorldCom/Mo Nunn Racing Honda-Lola clocked the third-fastest practice lap of the day today in preparation for Sunday's 500-mile CART FedEx Championship Series race at California Speedway in Fontana.  Kanaan circled the 2-mile tri-oval in 31.364 seconds (232.891 mph) to lead this morning's opening practice session.  That lap was surpassed this afternoon only by last year's polesitter, Alex Tagliani (31.252 seconds, 233.726 mph), and former series champion Jimmy Vasser (31.351 seconds, 232.988 mph).

Kanaan recorded a lap of 31.516 seconds (231.768 mph) in the afternoon session to end up fourth on the time sheets for that session.  Michel Jourdain's lap of 31.439 seconds (232.336 mph) was third-fastest in the afternoon session.

Practice resumes Saturday morning with final qualifying set for 11:30 a.m. PST (2:30 p.m. EST).  SPEED TV will carry the 90-minute single-car qualifying session live.  Race time Sunday is 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 p.m. EST) and, again, SPEED TV will carry all the action live beginning with a 3 p.m. EST pre-race show.

TONY KANAAN QUOTES

"It's a long, long race, so we're definitely not worrying about getting a qualifying lap or anything like that.  It's all about Sunday and being able to go the distance and having a comfortable car that can make it to the front and stay there.  We're definitely getting there.  The car's not perfect, yet.  We're fighting a little bit of understeer, but I think we are headed in the right direction and we should be able to sort it all out by showtime on Sunday.  So far, so good."

-mnr-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Jimmy Vasser , Alex Tagliani , Tony Kanaan , Mo Nunn