CHAMPCAR/CART: Detroit: Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix Fast Facts

<pre> FAST FACTS FOR THE TENNECO AUTOMOTIVE GRAND PRIX OF DETROIT WHAT: Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit. WHERE: The Raceway on Belle Isle, Detroit, Mich. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, June 16-18. SUPPORT...


WHAT: Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit. WHERE: The Raceway on Belle Isle, Detroit, Mich. WHEN: Friday-Sunday, June 16-18. SUPPORT EVENTS: Dayton Indy Lights Championship, BF Goodrich Tires Trans-Am Championship, Barber Dodge Pro Series, Neon Charity Challenge. SCHEDULE (All times Eastern):

FRIDAY, JUNE 16 - Indy Lights practice, 9:30-10:10 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 10:30 a.m.-Noon; Indy Lights qualifying, 12:55-1:25 p.m.; Champ Car qualifying (2 groups/30 minutes each), 2:30-3:45 p.m.

SATURDAY, JUNE 17 - Indy Lights practice, 8-8:40 a.m.; Champ Car practice, 10-11:15 a.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 11:35 a.m.-12:05 p.m.; Champ Car qualifying (2 groups/30 minutes each), 1:45-3 p.m.

SUNDAY, JUNE 18 - Indy Lights warm-up 8-8:15 a.m.; Champ Car warm-up, 9-9:30 a.m.; Indy Lights race, 11:15 a.m.; Grid Champ Cars, 12:15 p.m.; Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit, 1 p.m.

BROADCAST: TV-ESPN (Live, 1 p.m., ET), and in 195 countries worldwide. RADIO-CART Radio Network. INTERNET - . PRE-RACE PROGRAMMING: Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit pole qualifying, 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday, ESPN2; CART 2Day, 10:30 a.m. ET Sunday, ESPN2. DEFENDING CHAMPION: Dario Franchitti. DEFENDING POLESITTER: Juan Montoya. TRACK LAYOUT: 2.346-mile temporary street circuit. RACE LENGTH: 84 laps, 197.06 miles. TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying (one lap) - 1998, Greg Moore, 114.859 miles per hour (1 minute, 13.530 seconds). Race - No race record at this distance. RACE ROUND: 7 of 20 in the FedEx Championship Series. FedEx CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES POINTS LEADERS: 1, Paul Tracy, 59 points; 2, Roberto Moreno, 52; 3, Jimmy Vasser, 48; 4, Michael Andretti, 44; 5, Juan Montoya, 44. NEXT EVENT: June 25, Freightliner/G.I. Joe's 200 Presented by Texaco, Portland, Ore.


Dario Franchitti of Team KOOL Green took over the FedEx Championship Series points lead by recording his second victory in three events at the 1999 Tenneco Automotive Grand Prix of Detroit. Franchitti's (KOOL Honda Reynard) victory allowed him to unseat rookie sensation Juan Montoya (Target Honda Reynard) as the points leader, giving him a 136-131 lead through 13 events. Montoya, the polesitter, finished 17th after a late-race mishap, but scored a point for leading a race-high 58 laps. Paul Tracy (KOOL Honda Reynard), Franchitti's Team KOOL Green teammate, completed an outstanding day for Team KOOL Green by finishing second. Rounding out the podium was Greg Moore (Player's Forsythe Racing Team Mercedes Reynard), who finished third. The victory was the fifth of Franchitti's career and his fourth on a temporary street circuit. He led Montoya 136-131 in championship points exiting the event, while fourth-place finisher Michael Andretti (Kmart/Texaco/Havoline Ford Swift) stood third with 119 points.

Vital Race Statistics

Time of Race: 2 hours, 2 minutes, 24.662 seconds. Average Speed: 81.643 mph. Margin of Victory: 0.135 seconds. Caution Flags: 8 for 23 laps. Lap Leaders: Juan Montoya, 58 laps; Dario Franchitti 13.


Year Race Winner Pole Winner 1989 Emerson Fittipaldi Michael Andretti 1990 Michael Andretti Michael Andretti 1991 Emerson Fittipaldi Michael Andretti 1992 Bobby Rahal Michael Andretti 1993 Danny Sullivan Nigel Mansell 1994 Paul Tracy Nigel Mansell 1995 Robby Gordon Robby Gordon 1996 Michael Andretti Scott Pruett 1997 Greg Moore Gil de Ferran 1998 Alex Zanardi Greg Moore 1999 Dario Franchitti Juan Montoya

Total Victories

Emerson Fittipaldi 2 Michael Andretti 2 Bobby Rahal 1 Danny Sullivan 1 Paul Tracy 1 Robby Gordon 1 Greg Moore 1 Alex Zanardi 1 Dario Franchitti 1

Total Pole Positions

Michael Andretti 4 Nigel Mansell 2 Robby Gordon 1 Scott Pruett 1 Gil de Ferran 1 Greg Moore 1 Juan Montoya 1

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Robby Gordon , Gil de Ferran , Michael Andretti , Jimmy Vasser , Bobby Rahal , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Alex Zanardi , Nigel Mansell , Scott Pruett , Danny Sullivan , Emerson Fittipaldi , Greg Moore