Castroneves leads Penske trio in Barber qualifying

Helio Castroneves will lead the field to the green flag for the second consecutive IndyCar race.

Though conditions were ideal, a new track record was hard to come by. But that didn’t stop Helio Castroneves from scoring his second pole position of the season at Barber Motorsports Park as he was able to beat the rain to put in a lap of 1:07.1925 around the 2.38 mile road course.

Big names in the back

Threatening skies were the story of qualifying as everyone was hoping to lay down a fast lap before the skies opened up. The first group saw a few surprise eliminations as St. Petersburg winner Juan Pablo Montoya and defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay could not get out of the first round and will start 15th and 18th, respectively.

Also not making it out of the first round was A.J. Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato and Jack Hawksworth in addition to all Honda drivers bar James Hinchcliffe and Graham Rahal.

The second round of qualifying began with ten Chevrolet cars and two Honda cars competing to get into the Firestone Fast Six, but it was six Chevrolets that came out as Sebastien Bourdais, Rahal, Luca Filippi, Hinchcliffe, Charlie Kimball and Sage Karam filled out the second half-dozen positions on the grid for Sunday’s race.

The fast six was completed before the rain came and washed off the track, leaving Castroneves on pole followed by Will Power, Simon Pagenaud, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden and Tony Kanaan completing the top six.

Qualifying results:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 1m07.1925
2 Will Power Team Penske 0.1908
3 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 0.4458
4 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 0.5013
5 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing 0.6997
6 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 0.7501
7 Sebastien Bourdais KV Racing Q2
8 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Q2
9 Luca Filippi CFH Racing Q2
10 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Q2
11 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Q2
12 Sage Karam Chip Ganassi Racing Q2
13 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Q1
14 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Q1
15 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Q1
16 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Q1
17 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport Q1
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Q1
19 Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises Q1
20 Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises Q1
21 Rodolfo Gonzalez Dale Coyne Racing Q1
22 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Q1
23 Francesco Dracone Dale Coyne Racing Q1
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Birmingham
Track Barber Motorsports Park
Drivers Helio Castroneves
Article type Qualifying report
Tags team penske