Bourdais is a winner again after a seven year hiatus from Victory Lane

Sebastie Bourdais dominated the first race in Toronto after starting from pole position.

Sebastien Bourdais dominated the 65 lap race on the streets of Toronto this morning. The four-time champion has collected his 32nd career win and his first since November of 2007. He now breaks the tie on the all-time wins list he shared with fellow legends Dario Franchitti and Paul Tracy.

“It’s really sweet. We had to fight and wait for it for a long time but today was just kind of one of these days when the stars align,” said Bourdais, who earned the Verizon P1 Award on July 19. “I guess I was not expecting it because here I know how things can go. Last year we were second and third and it’s great to get this win.”

The win was the first for KVSH Racing since their 2013 Indianapolis 500 triumph with Tony Kanaan.

Helio Castroneves padded his points lead with a strong second place finish, followed by his countryman Tony Kanaan in third. Simon Pagenaud rebounded from an early spin to finish fourth. Reigning series champion Scott Dixon rounded out the top five.

“You’ve got to capitalize on those opportunities, even if it’s an odd weekend,” Castroneves said. “We have go to take advantage of it and that’s what we did.”

Behind them, it was Graham Rahal, Charlie Kimball, James Hinchcliffe, Justin Wilson, and Will Power filling out the rest of the top ten.

There were two full-course cautions during the race. The first was a big mess on the opening lap that started when Luca Filippi made contact with Simon Pagenaud, sending the No. 77 spinning. Mike Conway, Takuma Sato, Josef Newgarden, and Carlos Munoz were all caught up in the ensuing carnage.


Ryan Hunter-Reay slammed the wall after contact with Tony Kanaan on the 39th lap, relegating him to a 21st place result.

28 points now separate Penske teammates Helio Castroneves and Will Power in the championship standings. Simon Pagenaud is third, another 30 points behind Power.

Quotes via IndyCar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Event Toronto
Sub-event Sunday race 1
Track Exhibition Place
Drivers Takuma Sato , Justin Wilson , Helio Castroneves , Paul Tracy , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Tony Kanaan , Graham Rahal , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Sébastien Bourdais , Charlie Kimball , Mike Conway , Will Power , Simon Pagenaud , Luca Filippi , James Hinchcliffe , Carlos Munoz , Josef Newgarden
Article type Race report