Andretti secures P1 award for Milwaukee Indyfest

The IZOD IndyCar Series will compete in the Milwaukee IndyFest, a 228-lap race at 4:40 p.m. (ET) on Saturday.

WEST ALLIS, Wis. - Marco Andretti is halfway to securing the best Father's Day present for his dad, who happens to be the team owner.

Marco Andretti, who trails Helio Castroneves in the championship standings, earned the Verizon P1 Award for the Milwaukee IndyFest June 15, trimming the Brazilian's points lead by one point.

Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport
Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport

Photo by: Shawn Gritzmacher

Driving the No. 25 RC Cola car, he buried the racetrack two-lap qualifying record set in 2012 by Dario Franchitti (168.737 mph average) with an average speed of 170.515 mph.

"So far, that was about as good as we could run, so I'm pleased," said Andretti, who earned his first pole in the series at Milwaukee in 2008. "I think the RC Cola car will be tough to beat. A win would be huge. I told Dad that hopefully (the pole) is only half of his Father's Day gift."

Michael Andretti earned five Indy car victories as a driver and has four as a team owner at The Milwaukee Mile. Andretti Sports Marketing, an arm of Andretti Autosport, is the promoter of the event this weekend.

Andretti is the sixth different pole winner in nine races this season. There have been seven different winners representing five teams. James Hinchcliffe is the lone two-time winner, and he'll start next to his teammate on the front row -- tying his series best in 2012 at Barber Motorsports Park -- in the No. 27 car. Hinchcliffe recorded the fastest lap of the weekend (170.868 mph) on Lap 1 of qualifying.

"Don't tell Marco, but the outside is way better on the start," Hinchcliffe said. "That is what I was going for."

Defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay (170.100) and E.J. Viso (169.828) -- the other two Andretti Autosport drivers -- qualified fourth and fifth, respectively. Will Power broke up the Andretti Autosport roll by qualifying third (170.212) in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car.

Sebastian Saavedra qualified a career-best sixth in the No. 6 Dragon Racing car, while Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan qualified seventh and Josef Newgarden made it two in a row in the top 10.

Castroneves, a three-time pole winner at Milwaukee and the race winner at Texas Motor Speedway on June 8, tied his season low by qualifying 18th in the No. 3 PPG Team Penske car.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Helio Castroneves , Michael Andretti , Dario Franchitti , Tony Kanaan , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Marco Andretti , Will Power , James Hinchcliffe , Sebastian Saavedra , Josef Newgarden
Teams Andretti Autosport , Team Penske , Dragon Racing
Article type Qualifying report
Tags andretti, castroneves, franchitti, hinchcliffe, hunter-reay, indycar, milwaukee mile