AJ Foyt Racing Texas Qualifying Report

Texas Motor Speedway

Meira Qualifies 12th for the Firestone Twin 275s

Vitor Meira continues to better his starting positions in 2011 over his 2010 grid starts. Meira qualified his ABC Supply No. 14 car 12th fastest out of a field of 30 cars for tomorrow evening’s Firestone Twin 275s IndyCar race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Under a blistering hot sun with temps in the 90s, Meira posted two laps of 213.6 mph and 213.2 mph for an average speed of 213.4 mph to secure the outside sixth row starting slot in the first of two 114-lap twin features. Compared to last year when he qualified 19th here, Meira moved up seven positions in an even more competitive field this season.

Vitor Meira, A.J. Foyt Enterprises
Vitor Meira, A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Photo by: Michael C. Johnson

“It was a pretty good run considering that we spent most of the practice working on our race set-up versus our qualifying setup. I’m satisfied to be in the top half of a big and very competitive field—especially knowing our race setup is better than our qualifying setup.”

Qualifying will only apply for the first race of the doubleheader because immediately after the first race, drivers will draw for their starting position in the second event. The track has come up with a unique visual for the fans in attendance. Ten poles with three Firestone tires each mounted to them will be positioned across the pre-race stage at the start finish line. The driver finishing last in the first race will be the first to select one of 30 Firestone tires which will be spun around to reveal the starting position. The second-to-last finisher will be the next to select and continuing through the finishers until reaching the winner who will end up with the final tire.

Teams will have a 10-minute window after the first race to submit a request to run their back-up car in the second feature if their primary car is too badly damaged in the first race to continue. The time between races will now be 70 minutes allowing for teams to make changes to their cars once the winner’s car returns to pit lane after the abbreviated victory lane ceremonies.

-source: ajfr

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers A.J. Foyt , Vitor Meira
Teams A.J. Foyt Enterprises
Tags abc supply, izod, victor meria