AJ Foyt Racing Sebring Open Test day 3 report

AJ Foyt Racing press release

Mike Conway and the ABC Supply Team Enjoy Productive Day of Testing at Sebring

Mike Conway, A.J. Foyt Racing Honda
Mike Conway, A.J. Foyt Racing Honda

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

SEBRING, FL March 8, 2012—It didn’t take long for Mike Conway to acclimate himself to the twists and turns of Sebring International Raceway. In the morning session of the IZOD IndyCar Series Open Test, he was second quickest in the Honda-powered No. 14 ABC Supply Dallara. Scott Dixon was quickest.

“Overall the day went quite well,” said Conway. “We seemed to be in the front of the timesheets most of the day but it was more about getting through the program we had ahead of us and really dialing in the car because there’s still a lot of unexplored areas for us with the car. It takes time.”

In the afternoon session, Conway posted the fourth quickest time - 52.2230 seconds for a speed of 115.122 mph around the 1.67-mile short course. The Honda-powered Target Ganassi team claimed the top two spots with Dixon clocking in at 51.9674 (115.688 mph) and Dario Franchitti at 52.1401 (115.305 mph). Driving KV Technology’s Chevrolet/Dallara, Formula One star Rubens Barrichello was just .0002 seconds quicker than Conway with a time of 52.2228 (115.122 mph).

“I’m a lot more comfortable with the way the car’s feeling and the setups we’re exploring,” Conway said. “All in all, the ABC car was pretty quick but there’s still more time in the bag. Once we explore that with another day of running, we’ll definitely be in better shape.”

Conway did encounter a problem with the clutch towards the end of the afternoon session. However, the ABC Supply team was able to fix it in time for tomorrow’s final day of the Open Test here.

Sixteen cars logged laps today including: seven Hondas, six Chevrolets and three Lotuses.

Combining the times with the first group of Indy cars that tested at the track on Monday and Tuesday, Conway emerged seventh overall behind Dixon, Franchitti, Helio Castroneves, Will Power, Ryan Briscoe and Barrichello.

The first race of the season takes place March 25 in St. Petersburg, FL. The Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg will be televised live by ABC-TV starting at 12:30 p.m. Eastern.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IndyCar
Drivers Rubens Barrichello , Helio Castroneves , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Ryan Briscoe , Mike Conway , Eric Gilbert , Will Power , A.J. Foyt
Tags conway, foyt, honda