Dakshin Dare: Yadav, Kumar fastest after opening leg

Samrat Yadav topped the opening leg of 2017 Dakshin Dare cross-country rally in the Ultimate Cars category, while Sanjay Kumar triumphed in the equivalent class for bikes.

Monday’s first leg ran from the metropolitan city of Bangalore to the countryside in Chitradurga, with drivers covering a total competitive distance of 135 km by passing through a gravel stage thrice. Moto riders covered the same loop, but one fewer time than their Ultimate Cars counterparts.

Yadav completed the leg in 2hr45m26s in a Maruti Suzuki Gypsy, beating two-time Dakshin Dare winner Sanjay Sharma by just over a minute.

Defending champion Suresh Rana finished another three minutes adrift after suffering a puncture in one of the three runs today. He was closely followed by Gaurav Chiripal, with Harvinder Bhola completing the top five.

Meanwhile, Kumar was quickest of all in the Ultimate Bikes category, crossing the day’s two stages with a time of 1m50.42s.

TVS Racing’s R Nataraj and Abdul Waheed Tanveer finished close behind in second and third places respectively, but lost crucial time with navigational errors.

Rajendra R E made it three TVS bikes in the top four, while Srinivasa finished fifth astride a Hero Impulse.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Rally
Event Dakshin Dare
Article type Leg report