Thrilling first JK race as Shanmugam takes the win

A feisty drive from the young drivers at the Buddh International circuit saw pole man Ananth Shanmugam takes light-to-flag victory in the first JK race of the weekend.

There was no one to challenge the winner Shanmugam who was in a league of his own while the battle for second place took centerstage throughout the 10-lap race.

Akhil Rabindra and Vishnu Prasad fought hard in the race; Rabindra who started second lost the position to Prasad, who charged up through the field, starting sixth.

It went on to the last lap, to the last corner where Prasad managed to take second, but behind him Karthik Tharani and Rabindra made contact which dropped Rabindra out of the podium and pushed Nayan Chatterjee up to third.

The battle for fourth, fifth and sixth was close but Chatterjee won that battle when Rabindra and Tharani made contact.

Sandeep Kumar finished fourth as Akash Gowda completed the top five with Rabindra finishing sixth with significant damage to his car.

Italian racer Costantino Peroni was seventh, Krishnaraaj Mahadik eighth as Tharani finished ninth and Dhruv Mohite completed the top 10.

Shanmugam also clocked the fastest lap of the race with a time of 2m10:337s.

Pos Driver Total Time
1 Ananth Shanmugam 21m55:344s
2 Vishnu Prasad 11.525s
3 Nayan Chatterjee 20.678s
4 Sandeep Kumar 21.184s
5 Akash Gowda 22.141s
6 Akhil Rabindra 24.208s
7 Costantino Peroni 26.088s
8 Krishnaraaj Mahadik 26.847s
9 Karthik Tharani 30.865s
10 Dhruv Mohite 33.671s
11 Diljith TS 59.210s
12 Jason Huggins 1 lap
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Greater Noida
Track Buddh International Circuit
Article type Race report