Stage set for JK Racing finale at Buddh circuit

The 2015 season of JK Tyre Racing India series (JKRIS) will conclude this weekend at Buddh International circuit where the ultimate champion will be crowned.

With at least one win in each of the three rounds, two-time champion Vishnu Prasad leads the standings going into the season finale, with 80 points in his tally. Bangalore’s Ananth Shanmugham is a distant second in the championship, trailing Prasad by 18 points.

However, with three races scheduled over the weekend, Shanmugham has every reason to believe he can overhaul his Chennai rival to clinch the title.

Away from the title fight, National Karting champion Krishnaraj Mahadik and National Racing champion winner Karthik Tharani will squabble for third place in the standings. The two drivers are separated by just one point, with the latter currently ahead by a whisker.

Behind the trio, Kush Maini occupies the fourth spot on the leaderboard, despite missing the previous round due to European karting commitments. It remains unclear whether he will take part this weekend.

The winner of the FB02 category of JK Tyre Racing Championship awaits a Formula 3 test with Euro International, the team which also prepares the BMW-powered cars for promoters JK Tyre.

The prize distribution ceremony has been organised at the venue for end-of-the season awards.

Grant to headline stunt show

Fans will be kept to the edge of their seats with international stunt driver Terry Grant expected to perform at the Buddh in-between the races. Regular stunt shows on both four and two-wheels are also scheduled for the weekend.

Pos. Driver Points
1 Vishnu Prasad 80
2 Ananth Shanmugham 62
3 Karthik Tharani 35
4 Krishnaraaj Mahadik 34
5 Kush Maini 33
6 Nayan Chatterjee 27
7 Akash Gowda 27
8 Sandeep Kumar 20
9 Dhruv Mohite 14
10 Diljith TS 14
11 Ameya Bafna 0
12 Jasson Huggins 0
13 Costantino Peroni* 0
14 Akhil Rabindra* 0

*not eligible for points

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Greater Noida II
Track Buddh International Circuit
Article type Preview