Rabindra take winning honours in race one of JK Tyre

Akhil Rabindra starting from pole won the first race of the Coimbatore weekend starting the JK Tyre season on a high.

Rabindra started off without much trouble as he led from Ananth Shanmugam at the end of lap one.

The temperature soared at the 2.1km long Kari Motor Speedway as India's young drivers fought out for the ultimate title.

As Rabindra stretched his lead, Dhruv Mohite moved up two places as he overtook Shanmugam and Nayan Chatterjee to slot himself behind the leader.

After already winning a race in the Formula LGB F4, Vishnu Prasad also moved ahead of Shanmugam and Chatterjee to challenge Mohite for second place.

Rabindra got a clear win in the first race as Mohite finished second and Prasad completed the podium.

Shanmugam finished fourth while Chatterjee completed the top five. Italian Costantino Peroni in his first ever race in India finished seventh.

There were four retirements in the form of Diljith TS, Akash Gowda, Sandeep Kumar and Krishnaraaj Mahadik.

Race two will start at 11:15 local time while race three will start at 14:45 local time on Sunday.

Full race one results:

Pos Driver Time/Gap (Race One)
1 Akhil Rabindra 1m05.568s
2 Dhruv Mohite 0.317s
3 Vishnu Prasad 0.881s
4 Ananth Shanmugam 1.217s
5 Nayan Chatterjee 1.522s
6 Kush Maini 2.678s
7 Costantino Peroni 3.314s
8 Karthik Tharani 4.309s
DNF Diljith TS  
DNF Akash Gowda  
DNF Sandeep Kumar  
DNF Krishnaraaj Mahadik  

Additional reporting by Surendhar Muthu

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Coimbatore
Track Kari Motor Speedway
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Akhil Rabindra
Article type Race report