Prasad wins race one of JK Tyre weekend

Starting third in the first race of the JK Tyre weekend, Vishnu Prasad took a commanding win over polesitter Krishnaraj Mahadik.

The start of the race saw Mahadik losing ground as he was overtaken by Kush Maini on second lap and was soon eclipsed by Prasad thereon.

There was no stopping Prasad as he moved ahead of Maini to take the lead of the race by lap three.

From then on, it was just stretching the lead up ahead and take a comfortable win in the first race of the weekend.

After losing ground to Prasad and Maini, Mahadik gained some momentum after overtaking Miani and finishing second in the race while Maini completed the podium with a third-place finish.

Prasad also notched up the fastest lap of the race with a time of 1m04.606s after starting from the second row of the grid.

Akhil Rabindra finished eighth behind Italy's Costantino Peroni. A difficult start for the BRDC F4 driver as Rabindra never looked to be settled with the car.

National Racing champion Karthik Tharani also had a difficult race finishing sixth behind Ananth Shanmugan and Akash Gowda.

The retirement list had Sandeep Kumar, Ameya Bafna and Dhruv Mohite.

Race two and three will take place on Sunday at 11:15 and 14:30 local time.

Race 1 Results:

Pos Driver Total Time/Gap
1 Vishnu Prasad 16m32.381s
2 Krishna Mahadik 1.109s
3 Kush Maini 5.907s
4 Ananth Shanmugam 7.438s
5 Akash Gowda 9.789s
6 Karthik Tharani 12.146s
7 Costantino Peroni 13.045s
8 Akhil Rabindra 14.894s
9 Nayan Chatterjee 15.521s
DNF Sandeep Kumar  
DNF Ameya Bafna  
DNF Dhruv Mohite  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Akhil Rabindra , Costantino Peroni
Article type Race report