Prasad wins final race, becomes three-time JK Racing champion

In a thrilling finale, Vishnu Prasad held off his rivals to take a fine win in the final JK Racing series race and also clinch the title for the third consecutive time.

Positions kept changing throughout the 10-lap race at the Buddh International Circuit as Prasad fought with contender Ananth Shanmugam and Akhil Rabindra.

Race lead changed hands among the trio before Prasad finally taking it from Rabindra with three laps to go.

Both Rabindra and Shanmugam stayed at the tail of Prasad, but it was not enough as the experienced campaigner soaked in the pressure to take the win and the title along with the fastest lap of 2m07.706s.

Rabindra finished second eventually after Shanmugam retired with two laps to go, giving Krishnaraaj Mahadik the final podium slot.

Nayan Chatterjee defended from Costantino Peroni as they finished fourth and fifth after their race long battle in diminishing conditions.

Karthik Tharani was a close sixth behind Chatterjee and Peroni as newcomer Chittesh Mandody finished a respectable seventh.

The top was completed by Sandeep Kumar at eighth, Parth Ghorpade ninth and Ajay Kini 10th to complete the 2015 season.

Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Vishnu Prasad 21m31.250s
2 Akhil Rabindra 3.988s
3 Krishnaraaj Mahadik 4.173s 
4 Nayan Chatterjee 16.788s
5 Costantino Peroni 17.830s
6 Karthik Tharani 18.637s
7 Chittesh Mandody 20.570s
8 Sandeep Kumar 23.643s
9 Parth Ghorpade 29.399s
10 Ajay Kini 36.424s
DNF Ananth Shanmugam  
DNF Diljith TS  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Greater Noida II
Track Buddh International Circuit
Article type Race report