Prasad inherits race one win after penalty to Tharani

Vishnu Prasad extended his championship lead after an opportunistic win in the first race of the JK Tyre Racing after Karthik Tharani was penalised from race lead.

The National championship winner Tharani was on-song battling with Prasad and polesitter Costantino Peroni throughout the 10-lap race.

A bittersweet moment for Tharani who was given a two-position penalty for overtaking under the yellow flag which demoted him to third.

That gave Prasad another win with Peroni settling for second. Prasad also clocked the fastest lap of the race with a time of 2m08.466s at the Buddh International circuit.

Akhil Rabindra finished a handy fourth pushing Nayan Chatterjee to fifth and Krishnaraaj Mahadik was sixth, right at the tail of Mahadik, making up five places in the process.

Guest Indian driver Parth Ghorpade finished a distant seventh, making up two places, ahead of Chittesh Mandody at eighth.

The top 10 was completed by Ananth Shanmugam at ninth and Akash Gowda 10th, losing four places after starting sixth.

Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Vishnu Prasad 21m39.753s
2 Costantino Peroni 1.656s
3 Karthik Tharani  
4 Akhil Rabindra 5.777s
5 Nayan Chatterjee 7.016s
6 Krishnaraaj Mahadik 7.201s
7 Parth Ghorpade 15.222s
8 Chittesh Mandody 17.075s
9 Ananth Shanmugam 18.850s
10 Akash Gowda 22.277s
11 Diljith TS 43.199s 
DNF Sandeep Kumar  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Greater Noida II
Track Buddh International Circuit
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Parth Ghorpade , Costantino Peroni
Article type Race report