Peroni notches up his second JK Racing win

Italian Costantino Peroni took a lights-to-flag win in the second JK Tyre Racing series race at the Buddh International Circuit.

Starting from pole, Peroni held his nerve being chased by championship leader Vishnu Prasad to keep his lead.

A fast starting Nayan Chatterjee was also on their tails followed by Akhil Rabindra. But soon, Prasad lost ground giving Chatterjee the opening and Krishnaraaj Mahadik too made the opportunistic move to get into the podium slot.

The young Italian was unfazed at the front and took a dominating second win of the championship finishing 6.747s ahead of second-placed Mahadik.

Chatterjee rounded off the top three after losing a position to Mahadik in the closing stages of the second race. Mahadik also clocked the fastest lap with a time of 2m08.262s.

Rabindra eventually finished a distant fourth ahead of Ananth Shanmugam at fifth. Newcomer Chittesh Mandody had a good run to sixth keeping Prasad at bay.

A disappointing seventh for the leader as Sandeep Kumar was eighth, Parth Ghorpade ninth, completing the top 10.

Diljith TS retired on the last lap while Karthik Tharani a lap before.

Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Costantino Peroni 21m29.480s
2 Krishnaraaj Mahadik 6.747s
3 Nayan Chatterjee 7.753s 
4 Akhil Rabindra 11.610s
5 Ananth Shanmugam 16.166s
6 Chittesh Mandody 18.610s
7 Vishnu Prasad 24.699s
8 Sandeep Kumar 26.206s
9 Parth Ghorpade 30.062s
DNF Diljith TS +9 laps
DNF Karthik Tharani  
DNF Ajay Kini  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event JK Tyre: Greater Noida II
Track Buddh International Circuit
Drivers Parth Ghorpade , Akhil Rabindra , Costantino Peroni , Nayan Chatterjee
Article type Race report