Parekh wins Race 1; maiden podium visit for Ram

Goutham Parekh remained calm under wet conditions to take the winning honours in Race 1 of the MRF 1600 weekend on Sunday, ahead of 18-year old Tejas Ram.

After the start of the race was delayed due to heavy rain, all the 12 drivers fitted the wet MRF tyres for the first time this season for race one.

Parekh got off the line quickly but Arjun Narendran from third had even quicker start as he got side by side with Parekh going into Turn 1 but the Bangalore-based driver maintained the lead as home hero settled for second.

The visibility was poor under damp conditions at KMS; the drivers had to be extra cautious to remain on-track. A spin from Narendran saw the Coimbatore-based driver drop down to fourth as Ram chased Parekh for his maiden win.

With the rain easing, Parekh pulled away in the end to take his second win of the season as Ram slotted in at second; his first podium finish of the season.

A lonely race for championship leader Karthik Tharani saw him finishing third. It was a significant podium finish for Tharani in the tight title battle.

Narendran finished fourth as front row starter Chetan Korada lost places at the start to finish fifth, rounding off the top five.

The top 10 was completed by British driver Hamish Robinson at sixth, Aayush Saini seventh, Anshul Shah eighth, Anindith Reddy ninth and Niranjan Todkari tenth.

The sole driver to retire was actor Jai Sampath.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF 1600: Coimbatore
Track Kari Motor Speedway
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Goutham Parekh , Anindith Reddy , Arjun Narendran , Tejas Ram , Chetan Korada , Hamish Robinson
Article type Race report