Parekh wins final race; Tharani crowned champion

A bittersweet victory for Goutham Parekh in the final race of the National Racing Championship as Karthik Tharani, having finished second was crowned the champion of the FF1600 season.

A top four reverse grid meant Anshul Shah started on pole with Tejas Ram alongside while Arjun Narendran and Tharani started from row two of the grid.

A sedate start from the top three as Tharani lost places to fall down to sixth. Goutham Parekh, having started eighth made a rocketing start to fourth, right behind Narendran's tails.

Both Parekh and Tharani continued making up places as race leader Shah was given a drive-through penalty which demoted him to sixth.

Parekh took the race lead on the sixth lap after Shah served his penalty and Ram lost places to go down to fifth.

It was fairly a calm race from then with Parekh leading without much pressure from Tharani while Narendran defending well from Ram.

Parekh thus won the race but finished with 187 points while Tharani ended on 193 points, and the winner for the MRF FF1600 season.

Narendran finished third while Ram was fourth and Hamish Robinson fifth who in the final stages overtook Jai Sampath.

Shah eventually finished eighth sandwiched between Aditya Mhatre at seventh and Aayush Saini at ninth.

The fastest lap honours went to Tharani who clocked a time of 1m42.017s.

Full Results:

Pos. Driver Time/Gap
1 Goutham Parekh 1m42.779s
2 Karthik Tharani 1.193s
3 Arjun Narendran 12.302s
4 CS Tejas Ram 13.578s
5 Hamish Robinson 43.479s
6 Jai Sampath 56.623s
7 Aditya Mhatre 1m32.923s
8 Anshul Shah 1 Lap
9 Aayus Saini 1 Lap
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF 1600: Chennai IV
Track Madras Motor Race Track
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Goutham Parekh , Arjun Narendran , Tejas Ram , Hamish Robinson , Jai Sampath , Anshul Shah
Article type Race report