Nine drivers complete F1600 pre-season testing

Kari Motorsport Speedway played host to the MRF Formula Ford 1600 pre-season testing with as many as nine drivers participating in it.

The testing was scheduled for January 12 and 13 at KMS, two weeks ahead of the season opener at Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai.

Nine drivers tested the brand new F1600 across the two days. Among them, were three returning drivers with two-time Indian Touring Car champion Arjun Narendran, actor/racer Jai Sampath and Chetan Korada.

Speaking on the testing, Korada said: "The two days was to get comfortable with the new car and improve my lap times."

Narendran was happy with how things went. "The car is very good, I was able to do good lap times, overall, testing has been good," he said.

The new drivers included 2015 Volkswagen Vento Cup champion Anindith Reddy along with Nissan GT Academy 2014 winner Abhinay Bikkani and newcomer Siddharth Potharaju.

With Vento Cup switching to MRF in 2016, more drivers from its 2015 season tested including the sister duo of Neha and Ria Dabas and podium finisher Sahil Gahuri.

For Neha, it was a brand new experience, driving single-seater for the first time. "I am glad I came for the testing," she said.

"It was my first time in a single-seater car and these cars are much quicker, and powerful than any other race car I've driven before.

"It is physically more demanding, you need to have strong neck and core muscles to fight all that wind pressure," she continued.

She was visibly thrilled after the testing. "No doubt it gave me the excitement and adrenaline rush that I've always been wanting to experience," she added.

"The dynamics of this car is completely different from that of the touring car I've driven, its incomparable. Also these car are much more faster in the corners.

"Its a pure race car built for pure racing. I had a good amount of track time to get acquainted with the car," she ended.

The 2016 season will start on January 29 with races in March, June, July and August having two incentives for the winner, with a Road to Indy shootout shot and a full MRF Challenge season.

Driver Day 1 Day 2
Arjun Narendran Yes Yes
Abhinay Bikkani   Yes
Chetan Korada Yes Yes
Jai Sampath Yes  
Neha Dabas   Yes
Ria Dabas   Yes
Anindith Reddy Yes  
Sahil Gahuri   Yes
Siddharth Potharaju Yes Yes

Interview by Hetal Mehta

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF 1600: Chennai January testing
Track Kari Motor Speedway
Drivers Anindith Reddy , Arjun Narendran , Chetan Korada , Jai Sampath , Sahil Gahuri , Ria Dabas , Neha Dabas
Article type Breaking news