Indian FF1600 winner to get a shot at Road to Indy shootout

The MMSC MRF Formula Ford 1600 champion of the 2016 season is all set to compete in the Mazda Road to Indy shootout next year.

The 2016 FF1600 champion will get a chance to battle for a scholarship prize of 200,000 US dollars against 16 other champions of various Formula Ford series around the globe.

With the Mazda scholarship prize, the winner of the shootout will be able to compete in the USF2000 championship - the first step in the Road to Indy development ladder.

"The Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) has nurtured the making of many national champions as well as international drivers Karun Chandhok and Narain Karthikeyan,” said Vicky Chandhok, Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC) Chairman of National Racing Championships.

“While we have the rungs of the ladder in place for national level progression, this is the first time for us to tie up with a formally structured program which will certainly attract more participation from India into the sport.

"We’re very excited about 2016 and look forward to seeing who will be the first champion from India at the Shootout," the Indian added.

With this, the MRF 1600 championship will be designated as an "Official Feeder Series" of the Mazda Road to Indy and thus India becomes the eighth country to be a part of the shootout joining Australia, England, USA, Mexico, Canada, New Zealand and Scotland.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel , USF2000
Article type Breaking news
Tags chandhok, road to indy