Fittipaldi, Troitskiy and Calderon ready for Dubai; Alesi to debut

The MRF Challenge series moves to Dubai for the third round of the championship with Pietro Fittipaldi leading the standings.

Dubai Autodrome will host the penultimate round of the Indian-based Formula 2000 series as the title battle heads toward a three-way fight between Fittipaldi, Troitskiy and Calderon.

After a podium at Bahrain, the Brazilian moved to the top of the standings with 98 points, as Troitskiy sits second on 86 and Calderon third with 84 points.

The second round at Bahrain was set ablaze by Alessio Picarello taking pole and wins in both the races to put himself in the top five, leapfrogging Indian Tarun Reddy, who had a dismal weekend.

Harrison Newey upped his performance, registering his best finish (fourth place) of the championship in Bahrain as he chases for a spot inside the top five battling with countryman Sean Walkinshaw.

The Dubai round will see three new faces, as former F1 driver Jean Alesi's son Giuliano is set to make his MRF Challenge debut.

He will have two other debutants, former Spanish F2 driver Jose Abadin and Dutch youngster Rik Breukers completing a 16-driver entry.

The weekend schedule consists of two practice sessions on Thursday with qualifying and the first two races on Friday while the final two races is set for Saturday.

Entry list
 Dylan Young
 Pietro Fittipaldi
 Jose Abadin
 Tatiana Calderon
 Alessio Picariello
 Rik Breukers
 Arjun Narendran
 Tarun Reddy
 Giuliano Alesi
 Nikita Troitskiy
 Nerses Isaakyan
 Harrison Newey
 Max Fewtrell
 Laura Tillett
 Sean Walkinshaw
 Matthew Draper

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Dubai
Track Dubai Autodrome
Drivers Tatiana Calderon , Pietro Fittipaldi , Tarun Reddy , Giuliano Alesi , Harrison Newey , Nikita Troitskiy , Alessio Picariello
Article type Preview