F1600 winner to get full MRF Challenge season

The organisers of the National Racing Championship, MRF and JA Motorsport, today announced a reward of a full Formula 2000 season for the winner of Formula Ford 1600.

The 2016 NRC champion will compete in all rounds of the 2016/17 season of MRF Challenge and the runner-up will get to race in one round in the championship.

Last month, the Madras Motor Sport Club had announced a Mazda Road to Indy shootout prize for the F1600 winner, thus making the junior championship much more rewarding for young talents.

J Anand, JA Motorsport said: "We welcome the news from MRF Tyres confirming that the winner of the MRF F1600 championship will get a free ‘all expense paid’ drive in the 2016 MRF Challenge."

"We started the MRF F1600 & MRF Challenge with the objectives of producing a platform for young drivers to develop and create categories that will be up to international standards," he continued.

"We are offering the opportunity for young drivers to participate with the best in Europe on circuits that host top international races like Formula 1 and WEC.

"We are not just helping drivers race, but we are providing the opportunity for them to climb up the motorsport ladder,” he added.

Current NRC champion Karthik Tharani competed in the first two rounds of the 2015/16 MRF Challenge season.

The 2016 F1600 pre-season testing will take place on January 11 and 12 at Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore.

The new season will start as a support race to the finale of F2000 series between January 29 and 31 at Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai.

For more details about the F1600 championship click here

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Article type Breaking news