Dubai MRF Challenge: Picariello stays on top in final practice

Alessio Picariello led the way in the second and final MRF Challenge practice at the Dubai Autodrome, keeping championship leader Pietro Fittipaldi at bay.

The Belgian clocked a time of 2m00.337s, which was only 0.062s quicker than Fittipaldi's best lap, to sweep the practice sessions.

Championship contenders Tatiana Calderon and Nikita Troitskiy finished third and fourth, the Colombian edging the Russian on her last lap after the chequered flag was waved.

Jean Alesi's son Giuliano continued his fine run, finishing fifth, while Sean Walkinshaw was sixth, the last driver within the second of the leader.

Walkinshaw was followed by fellow Brits Max Fewtrell and Harrison Newey.

Australian Dylan Young finished ninth and Indian Tarun Reddy rounded off the top 10. Newcomers Rik Breukers and Jose Abadin were 11th and 12th.

Arjun Narendran will have a engine change before the qualifying as he is stalling in fourth gear.

1 Alessio Picariello 2m00.337s
2 Pietro Fittipaldi 0.062s
3 Tatiana Calderon 0.466s
4 Nikita Troitskiy 0.521s
5 Giuliano Alesi 0.870s
6 Sean Walkinshaw 0.895s
7 Max Fewtrell 1.208s
8 Harrison Newey 1.334s
9 Dylan Young 1.468s
10 Tarun Reddy 1.552s
11 Rik Breukers 2.241s
12 Jose Abadin 2.596s
13 Matthew Draper 2.702s
14 Laura Tillet 2.800s
15 Arjun Narendran 8.637s
  Nerses Isaakyan  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Dubai
Track Dubai Autodrome
Article type Practice report