Dubai MRF Challenge: Picariello on pole with a stonking lap

Alessio Picariello continued his dominant run in the MRF Challenge series taking pole for the first race of the Dubai weekend.

The Belgian driver clocked the fastest lap with a time of 1m58.786s, the only one to dip into the 1m58's while Russian Nikita Troitskiy was second. 

Troitskiy was the first driver to break the 2m00 barrier of the season. Brit Sean Walkinshaw having been quick all through the session ultimately ended third. 

Championship leader Pietro Fittipaldi finished fourth with Max Fewtrell completing the top five, the last of the drivers below the 2m00 mark and within a second of the leader.

The session ended under red flag with 2 minutes to go when Rik Breukers stopped on the track in otherwise a fairly incident free run.

Harrison Newey was sixth ahead of Tatiana Calderon with Nerses Isaakyan eighth, the Russian's first run at Dubai Autodrome after missing the practice yesterday.

The top 10 was completed by Indian Tarun Reddy at ninth and Aussie Dylan Young 10th. Giuliano Alesi had a difficult run ending 14th fastest.

Pos. Driver Laps Time/Gap
1 Alessio PICARIELLO 12 1m58.786s 
2 Nikita TROITCKII 12 0.306
3 Sean WALKINSHAW 12 0.553
4 Pietro FITTIPALDI 10 0.577
5 Max FEWTRELL 12 0.999
6 Harrison NEWEY 13 1.287
7 Tatiana CALDERON 11 1.409
8 Nerses ISAAKYAN 13 1.467
9 Tarun REDDY 13 1.580
10 Dylan YOUNG 12 1.693
11 Rik BREUKERS 12 2.514
12 Jose-Luis ABADIN 13 2.626
13 Matthew DRAPER 13 3.407
14 Giuliano ALESI 10 4.221
15 Arjun NARENDREN 12 4.345
16 Laura TILLETT 10 5.720
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Dubai
Track Dubai Autodrome
Drivers Tatiana Calderon , Pietro Fittipaldi , Sean Walkinshaw , Giuliano Alesi , Nikita Troitskiy , Alessio Picariello
Article type Qualifying report