Dubai MRF Challenge: Fittipaldi wins final race, Newey disqualified

Championship leader Pietro Fittipaldi extended his lead with a win in the final race of the MRF Challenge's third round, after race leader Harrison Newey was disqualified.

Sean Walkinshaw started on pole alongside Newey for the fourth and final race of the weekend, with Tatiana Calderon and Fittipaldi on the second row.

At the start, Newey took the lead of the race from Walkinshaw, with Fittipaldi slotting in second and Alessio Picariello moving up ahead of Nikita Troitskiy. 

Race leader Newey was then penalised for a false start, which dropped him to second-to-last at the end of the third lap and handed Fittipaldi the lead. 

Picariello caught up with Calderon and passed her to slot himself in second, as the Colombian then lost another place to Troitskiy.

It just wasn't Newey's day, with his father Adrian Newey looking on from the garage, as the British driver was shown the black flag with two laps to go.

At the front, Fittipaldi maintained a healthy lead to take victory from Picariello, who clocked the fastest lap with a 1m59.372s.

Troitskiy kept Calderon at bay to take the final spot on the podium, as fellow Russian Nerses Isaakyan finished a strong fifth.

There was further drama with the coming together of Tarun Reddy, Giuliano Alesi and Max Fewtrell, who were fighting for fifth.

Fewtrell retired while Reddy dropped positions, ultimately finishing 11th and Alesi 13th. Reddy and Fewtrell are under investigation.

Debutant Rik Breukers finished a fine sixth ahead of Laura Tillett, Dylan Young, Jose Abadin and Walkinshaw, who steadily dropped back from pole.

Pos. Drivers Total Time/Gap
1 Pietro FITTIPALDI 20m08.316s 
2 Alessio PICARIELLO 1.086
3 Nikita TROITSKIY 4.561
4 Tatiana CALDERON 5.629
5 Nerses ISAAKYAN 15.757
6 Rik BREUKERS 23.937
7 Laura TILLETT 28.653
8 Dylan YOUNG 29.641
9 Jose-Luis ABADIN 30.398
10 Sean WALKINSHAW 31.466
11 Tarun REDDY 35.807
12 Arjun NARENDREN 36.121
13 Giuliano ALESI 45.931
DNF Matthew DRAPER  
DQ Harrison NEWEY  
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Article type Race report