Bahrain MRF Challenge: Schumacher takes maiden win in Race 2 thriller

Mick Schumacher took victory in the second race of the MRF Challenge weekend at Bahrain, registering his maiden win in the championship.

The German driver started from the front row by virtue of the top six being reversed from Race 1, with rookie Felipe Drugovich on pole.

At the start, Schumacher wasted no time in taking the lead going into Turn 1, with Drugovich managing to hold off fast-starting duo Harrison Newey and Joey Mawson.

Soon Newey and Mawson caught up with Drugovich and passed him for second and third respectively, with Ralf Aron also chasing the pack closely behind.

While Schumacher built up a comfortable lead up ahead, Newey had Mawson all over him and on Lap 3 the German F4 champion made the move stick to take second, setting his sights on the race lead.

The Australian slowly started to claw into Schumacher's lead, bringing it down to under two seconds from over four, with a couple of laps remaining.

But the German driver had enough in the end to win his first race of the Indian international championship by 1.8s over rival Mawson.

It was then a battle between Aron and Newey for third, as the Estonian was on his European F3 rival's tail and overtook him on the last lap to take the final podium spot - the pair separated by a mere 0.016s.

Meanwhile, Drugovich eventually finished fifth after he had been overtaken by Aron on Lap 5, with German Kimi Schramm in sixth.

MRF Challenge regular Dylan Young was a distant seventh, closely followed by the only female driver on the grid, Bruna Tomaselli.

The top 10 was rounded off by Pastor Maldonado's cousin Manuel and Singaporean Pavan Ravishanker.

Race 2 results:

1  Mick Schumacher  
2  Joey Mawson 1.878
3  Ralf Aron 7.552
4  Harrison Newey 7.566
5  Felipe Drugovich 13.608
6  Kimi Schramm 16.547
7  Dylan Young 30.446
8  Bruna Tomaselli 31.939
9  Manuel Maldonado 33.207
10  Pavan Ravishanker 34.496
11  Bobby Eberle 53.473
12  Yoshiaki Katayama 56.424
13  Christophe Mariot +1 lap
14  Rinus Van Kalmthout +4 lap
R  Juri Vips  
R  Toby Sowery  
R  Moraes Cardoso  

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Bahrain
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Mick Schumacher , Harrison Newey , Ralf Aron , Joey Mawson
Article type Race report