Bahrain MRF Challenge: Newey takes first pole of season

Harrison Newey kicked off the 2016/17 season of the Indian international series MRF Challenge by clinching pole in the opening round at Bahrain International Circuit.

The European F3 racer clocked in a time of 2m00.316s, going marginally quicker than Mick Schumacher's time set in practice on Thursday.

Newey pipped halfway-point leader Joey Mawson by 0.312s, while Ralf Aron was third - the top three dipping into the 2m00s.

Behind, Schumacher was unable to beat his best time from FP2, ending up fourth ahead of the single-seater rookie from Netherlands, Rinus Van Kalmthout.

In a fairly incident-free session, German Kimi Schramm was sixth, managing to stay ahead of Brazil's Felipe Drugovich by a mere 0.044s.

The Italian F4 rookie champion Juri Vips found it difficult in the session after a promising practice to finish eighth, with Toby Sowery and Moraes Cardoso rounding off the top 10.

Qualifying results:

1  Harrison Newey 2m00.363s
2  Joey Mawson 0.382
3  Ralf Aron 0.628
4  Mick Schumacher 0.893
5  Rinus Van Kalmthout 1.023
6  Kimi Schramm 1.131
7  Felipe Drugovich 1.175
8  Juri Vips 1.256
9  Toby Sowery 1.692
10  Moraes Cardoso 1.727
11  Yoshiaki Katayama 1.889
12  Manuel Maldonado 2.198
13  Dylan Young 2.239
14  Bruna Tomaselli 2.485
15  Pavan Ravishanker 2.663
16  Bobby Eberle 3.665
17  Christophe Mariot 9.780
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Bahrain
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Drivers Mick Schumacher , Harrison Newey , Ralf Aron , Joey Mawson
Article type Qualifying report