Abu Dhabi MRF Challenge: Dennis finishes on top beating Fittipaldi

Jake Dennis stays on top in the second practice session of the MRF Challenge Formula 2000 at the Yas Marina circuit, beating fellow F3 driver Pietro Fittipaldi.

For the most part of the 30 minutes, Fittipaldi led the way ahead of Dennis and GP2 driver Nobuharu Matsushita.

Unlike the first session, the drivers were quick straight away clocking in the 2m15's before breaking into 2m14's and then into the 2m13's.

It was close until the end as Dennis beat Fittipaldi by 0.020s with the top eight drivers within a second of Dennis' time.

The Brazilian driver had set a time of 2m13.679s, only to be beaten by Dennis right towards the end of the session when the Briton went faster to clock a time of 2m13.659s.

Tatiana Calderon finished third, making it three F3 drivers in the top three. Sean Walkinshaw was fourth while Nikita Troitskiy completed the top five.

It was again an incident-free session as drivers grew more confidence after the morning run. Indian Tarun Reddy led the local contingent in sixth ahead of Matsushita.

The top 10 was completed by Sebastian Balthasar, Max Fewtrell and Harrison Newey.

1 Jake Dennis 2:13.659  
2 Pietro Fittipaldi 2:13.679 0.020
3 Tatiana Calderon 2:13.937 0.278
4 Sean Walkinshaw 2:14.114 0.455
5 Nikita Troitski 2:14.185 0.526
6 Tarun Reddy 2:14.251 0.592
7 Nobuharu Matsushita 2:14.261 0.602
8 Sebastian Balthasar 2:14.578 0.919
9 Max Fewtrell 2:14.728 1.069
10 Harrison Newey 2:14.900 1.647
11 Alice Powell 2:15.306 1.647
12 Karthik Tharani 2:15.468 1.809
13 Dylan Young 2:15.500 1.841
14 Laura Tillet 2:15.821 2.162
15 Nerses Isaakyan 2:16.459 2.800
16 Matt Draperr 2:17.163 3.504
17 Arjun Narendran 2:18.615 1.452


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF Challenge: Abu Dhabi
Track Yas Marina Circuit
Drivers Tatiana Calderon , Pietro Fittipaldi , Alice Powell , Jake Dennis , Sebastian Balthasar , Tarun Reddy , Dylan Young , Nobuharu Matsushita , Harrison Newey , Karthik Tharani , Arjun Narendran
Article type Practice report