17 drivers announced for F1600 season opener

MRF released the entry list for 2016 F1600 championship, with 17 drivers going head-to-head in the first round at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai this weekend.

The National Racing Championship driver list includes last year’s champion Karthik Tharani, who will be looking to defend his title from Goutham Parekh and two-time Indian Touring Car champion Arjun Narendran.

2015 Volkswagen Vento Cup winner Anindith Reddy steps up to single-seaters this year and will be joined by the female racing duo of Neha Dabas and Ria Dabas, who makes their formula car debut. 

Lee Keshav, a F1600 race winner, returns to racing following a year-long sabbatical. Among other names, actor/racer Jai Sampath and last year’s top rookie Tejas Ram and Anshul Shah also features in the list.

Earlier this month, the Madras Motor Sport Club [MMSC], handed scholarship to eight drivers to participate in this year's championship at a discounted price.

While Nissan GT Academy finalists Akshay Gupta and Abhinay Bikkani got through the scholarship, the entry list doesn't feature their names.

Bikkani had also tested the F1600 car along with eight other drivers at the pre-season testing at Kari Motor Speedway on January 12-13 of this month.

F1600 will act as a support event to the final round of 2015/16 MRF Challenge as the winners of this year's title eye the Mazda Road to Indy shootout shot and a full season of the F2000 championship.

Entry List

Anindith Reddy

Chetan Korada

Jai Sampath Kumar

Arjun Narendran

Tejas Ram

Anshul Shah

Goutham Parekh

Neha Dabas

Sudharshan Rao

Ria Dabas

Raghul Rangasamy

Karthik Tharani

Prashanth K

Brad Dias

Sandeep Kumar

Siddharth Potharaju

Lee Keshav

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Indian Open Wheel
Event MRF 1600: Chennai
Track Madras Motor Race Track
Drivers Karthik Tharani , Goutham Parekh , Anindith Reddy , Arjun Narendran , Tejas Ram , Chetan Korada , Jai Sampath , Anshul Shah , Ria Dabas , Neha Dabas
Article type Preview