Rolex 24 at Daytona: Prototype field rundown - photos

16 cars are entered in the main prototype class.

At the Rolex 24, there are two prototype classes. The PC class are all spec and play second fiddle to the senior prototype class, made up of Daytona Prototypes and former ALMS P2 machines.

Action Express go into this event as the reigning champions, with the trio of Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais hoping to repeat their 2014 triumph in their Corvette DP. Michael Shank Racing will start from pole position this weekend with the No. 01 alongside.

Here's a look at the 16 entries in the main prototype class because barring some kind of spectacular upset, one of them will be crowned the overall victors of the Rolex 24.

No. 01/No. 02 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Riley DP

Pruett/Hand/Kimball/Karam and Dixon/Kanaan/Larson/McMurray

- Starting 2nd and 3rd

- 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2013 race winner

- Finished 15th and 43rd in 2014

#01 Chip Ganassi Ford/Riley: Scott Pruett, Joey Hand, Charlie Kimball, Sage Karam
#02 Chip Ganassi Ford/Riley: Scott Dixon, Kyle Larson, Jamie McMurray, Tony Kanaan

No. 07/No. 70 SpeedSource Mazda 

Miller/Long/Devlin/Tremblay and Bomarito/Nunez/Hinchcliffe/Tremblay

- Starting 13th and 15th

- Finished 56th and 57th in 2014

#07 SpeedSource Mazda Prototype: Joel Miller, Tom Long, Ben Devlin, Sylvain Tremblay
#70 SpeedSource Mazda Mazda: Sylvain Tremblay, Jonathan Bomarito, Tristan Nunez

No. 0 DeltaWing Racing DeltaWing DWC13


- Starting 5th

- Finished 61st in 2014

#0 DeltaWing Racing Cars DWC13: Katherine Legge, Memo Rojas, Gabby Chaves, Andy Meyrick

No. 1/No. 2 Tequila Patron ESM Honda HPD ARX

Sharp/Dalziel/Hansson and Brown/van Overbeek/Fogarty

- Starting 12th and 16th

- Finished 11th and 59th in 2014

#2 Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-04b Honda: Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek, Jon Fogarty

No. 5/No. 31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP

Barbosa/Fittipaldi/Bourdais and Curran/Cameron/Papis/Keen

- Starting 4th and 9th

- 2010 and 2014 race winner

- Finished 1st and 3rd in 2014

#5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP: Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi, Sébastien Bourdais
#31 Action Express Racing Corvette DP: Eric Curran, Dane Cameron, Max Papis

No. 7  Starworks Motorsport Riley MK XX


- Starting 8th

- Finished 24th and 42nd in 2014 (Both in PC class)

#7 Starworks Motorsport Riley MK XX: Brendon Hartley, Rubens Barrichello, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tor Graves, Scott Mayer

No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP

J. Taylor/R. Taylor/Angelelli

- Starting 7th

- 2005 race winner

- Finished 2nd in 2014

#10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP: Ricky Taylor, Jordan Taylor, Max Angelelli

No. 50 Fifty Plus Racing Endures for a Cure/Highway to Help Riley DP


- Starting 14th

- Finished 35th in 2014

#50 Fifty Plus Racing Endures for a Cure/Highway to Help Race Team Riley BMW: Jim Pace, Byron DeFoor, David Hinton, Dorsey Schroeder

No. 57 Krohn Racing Honda HPD Liger


- Starting 6th

- Finished 37th in 2014 (GTLM class)

#57 Krohn Racing Ligier JS P2 Judd: Tracy Krohn, Olivier Pla, Nic Jonsson, Alex Brundle

No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Honda HPD Liger


- Starting on POLE

- 2012 race winner

- Finished 47th in 2014

#60 Michael Shank Racing with Curb/Agajanian Ligier JS P2 Honda: John Pew, Oswaldo Negri, A.J. Allmendinger, Matt McMurry

No. 66 RG Racing Riley DP


- Starting 11th

- Making Rolex 24 debut

#66 RG Racing BMW/Riley: Shane Lewis, Robert Gewirtz, Mark Kvamme

No. 90 Racing Corvette DP


- Starting 10th

- Finished 4th in 2014

#90 Racing Corvette DP: Richard Westbrook, Michael Valiante, Mike Rockenfeller

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Daytona 24
Track Daytona International Speedway
Drivers Wayne Taylor , Chip Ganassi , Michael Shank , Felix Sabates , Nic Jönsson
Article type Preview