Michelin impressive in return to Daytona

Porsche, BMW, SRT Viper sweep GTLM podium.

DAYTONA, Fla. – Michelin made a highly successful return to the Rolex 24 At Daytona and helped kick off a new era in North American motorsports with an impressive GT Le Mans (GTLM) class victory at this weekend’s launch of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

#911 Porsche North America Porsche 911 RSR: Nick Tandy, Richard Lietz, Patrick Pilet
#911 Porsche North America Porsche 911 RSR: Nick Tandy, Richard Lietz, Patrick Pilet

Photo by: Trevor Horn

The Porsche 911 RSR fielded by the recently created Porsche North America team and driven by Richard Lietz, Nick Tandy and Patrick Pilet claimed the GTLM class victory in the Rolex 24 At Daytona. The win, the 76th for Porsche at Daytona, backs up the 2013 Le Mans 24 Hours GT victory by the new Porsche 911 RSR.

“Michelin successfully faced a number of challenges in returning to Daytona International Speedway for the first time in 13 years and did so with technical partners that had never raced their current cars here,” said Ken Payne, technical director motorsports, Michelin North America.

“It is a compliment to the teams and our Michelin engineers and developers that our technical partner teams from Aston Martin, BMW Team RLL, Corvette Racing, Risi Competizione Ferrari, Porsche North America and SRT Viper experienced good tire performance and reliability and were able to lap within a very tight range,” said Payne. “We leave here feeling very tired and glad to be back at Daytona.”

Michelin was chosen by all 11 entries competing in the GT Le Mans (GTLM) class, the only class in the new series offering open tire competition.

The Michelin technical partners included all six auto manufacturers and the five factory teams: Aston Martin, BMW, Corvette, Porsche and SRT Viper entered.

Finishing second in GTLM was the BMW Z4 of BMW Team RLL driven by Bill Auberlen, Andy Priaulx, Joey Hand and Maxime Martin. Finishing third after qualifying on the class pole and leading the early stages of the 24 Hour race was the SRT Viper of Marc Goossens, Dominik Farnbacher and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

The series is the result of the merger of the former American Le Mans Series (ALMS) and the GRAND-AM Rolex Series. The race was won by Sebastian Bourdais, Joao Barbosa, and Christian Fittipaldi in the Action Express Corvette DP prototype.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Drivers Andy Priaulx , Christian Fittipaldi , Marc Goossens , Bill Auberlen , Joey Hand , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Joao Barbosa , Dominik Farnbacher , Patrick Pilet , Maxime Martin , Richard Lietz , Nick Tandy
Teams Corvette Racing , Risi Competizione , Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Article type Race report
Tags andy priaulx, bill auberlen, daytona 24, joey hand, maxime martin, michelin, nick tandy and patrick pilet, porsche, richard lietz, tusc