Jochen Mass named 2015 Rolex 24 Grand Marshal

Racing legend Jochen Mass will serve as the Grand Marshal in next year's race.

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA – Legendary German sports car and Formula One driver Jochen Mass will serve as the Grand Marshal for the 53rd edition of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on January 24-25, 2015 at Daytona International Speedway – the season-opening event for the IMSA TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

It’s an honor to have him preside as Grand Marshal for the Rolex 24

DIS President Joie Chitwood III

In his role as Grand Marshal, Mass will deliver the command, “Drivers start your engines,” for the demanding 24-hour sports car race staged on the track’s 3.56-mile road course. Mass joins other racing legends such as David Hobbs, Hurley Haywood, A.J. Foyt, Dan Gurney, Vic Elford and Brian Redman who have served as Grand Marshal for the prestigious twice-around-the-clock challenge.

“Jochen Mass is an endurance racing legend as well as a veteran driver in Formula One,” Daytona International Speedway President Joie Chitwood III said. “It’s an honor to have him preside as Grand Marshal for the Rolex 24 At Daytona to deliver the starting command as we kick off the 2015 racing season.”

Motorsports career

Between 1977-87, Mass made five starts in the Rolex 24 At Daytona posting a best finish of third in 1985 and 1986 driving Jim Busby’s Porsche 962. In 1977, Mass put the first turbo-charged Porsche 935 on pole for the Rolex 24; in 1987 he won his second pole driving Bruce Leven’s Porsche 962.

Notable victories for Mass in his sports car career include the 12 Hours of Sebring with co-driver Bobby Rahal in 1987 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1989 with co-drivers Manuel Reuter and Stanley Dickens.

Between 1973-82, during his Formula One career, Mass made more than 100 starts and earned his lone victory in the 1975 Spanish Grand Prix.

Daytona International Speedway

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Drivers Bobby Rahal , Vic Elford , Manuel Reuter , Dan Gurney , Hurley Haywood , David Hobbs , Brian Redman , Jochen Mass , Jim Busby , Stanley Dickens , Bruce Leven , A.J. Foyt
Article type Breaking news