Hour 6: Allmendinger maintains lead for Shank  

Changing fortunes throughout the field, but MSR's Ligier-Honda P2 has clear edge in pace.

A spun PC car, the #26 BAR1 entry driven by Don Yount, brought out the cautions toward the end of the sixth hour, while Tony Kanaan was leading in the #02 Riley-Ford ahead of Jonathan Bomarito in the Mazda Prototype, Ryan Dalziel in the Spirit of Daytona Corvette DP, and AJ Allmendinger who had only recently taken over the superquick Michael Shank Ligier from Olivier Pla.

Thus, as the top three pitted, Allmendinger moved back into the lead ahead of other cars that had made recent pitstops – Jonny Adam still at the wheel of AX Racing’s #31 Corvette DP, Brendon Hartley in the second of the Ganassi Riley-Fords, and Filipe Albuquerque who had taken over the #5 AX Racing car from Christian Fittipaldi.

Sadly Bomarito’s Mazda had a lengthy stop requiring a new steering wheel and he plummeted to ninth in class.

In GTLM, Nick Tandy and Frederic Makowiecki ran in a Porsche 1-2 formation, with Graham Rahal keeping the #100 BMW in third ahead of Olivier Beretta in the Risi Ferrari, Gianmaria Bruni in the SMP Racing Ferrari, and the two Corvettes, piloted by Mike Rockenfeller and Marcel Fassler.

GTD saw Madison Snow concede the lead as he pitted, but then return to the front under caution. In second Alessandro Balzan piloting the Ferrari 458 of Scuderia Corsa headed the #007 TRG Aston Martin of Santiago Creel.

Jose Gutierrez led PC in the #52 car of PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series IMSA
Event Daytona 24
Track Daytona International Speedway
Drivers A.J. Allmendinger
Article type Breaking news